+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: Newbie Alert!  (Read 14696 times)

SpaceLinks

Newbie Alert!
« on: 30 Sep 2007, 09:22:53 pm »
Hey, Fellow Crunchers!

I am new to the lunatics.at site. I know that I have a lot to learn, so I have questions to ask. Thank you in advance for your help!

I have previously used Crunch3r's apps, and am ready to use the ones on this site. However, I am unsure of which one to use.

From what I can gather, my AMD Athlon XP 2500+ would work with the SSE app in the lunatics.at Downloads section. Is that correct?

Also, how is the SSE app working out? I have tried to analyze the different tests people have run and posted here and at the setiathome site. From looking at the test runs, I'm not quite sure whether the SSE app makes an appreciable difference in performance.

Please tell me what you think! I really appreciate it.

John

Offline Jason G

• Construction Fraggle
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
Re: Newbie Alert!
« Reply #1 on: 30 Sep 2007, 10:24:56 pm »
Hi There,
   It's been really quiet here for the last two weeks or so, So I'll try to answer as best I can, although I am sure someone can correct me or enhance on it for you. 

If you are comparing the Chicken SSE 2.4 versus Crunch3r's SSE 2.4V they will be basically the same,  they are from the same sources, though I beleive Cruncher's is newer and *maybe* a couple of percent faster.  Also if running Vista you'd need the Crunch3r's 2.4V As I understand it (Hence the 'V')

Having said all that, I own neither Windows Vista nor an AMD CPU, so there may be more to it.