+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: GPU crunching question  (Read 132138 times)

citroja

  • Guest
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #75 on: 15 Mar 2007, 11:31:06 pm »
Any idea where I can get a list of those cards???

or even just the series of cards???

-citroja

Offline Devaster

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
  • I like Duke !!!
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #76 on: 03 Apr 2007, 09:54:45 pm »
nvidia : 6k,7k and G80 series,Quadros with ShaderModel 3.0
ATI : all1x00

Offline Devaster

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
  • I like Duke !!!
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #77 on: 05 Apr 2007, 04:37:42 pm »
interesting thing:
i have try replace a FFTGPU with a rapidmind implementation .... result ?

by standard test wu has seti crashed every time on a memory write error . it consumes a 1,5 GB (one and half gigabyte) of memory and want more ....  :o
why ?
there is a function generating a twiddle arrays - this arrays are with every step greater and greater (exponencially)  max size of fft on my machine (2 GB with vista) is 2 upto  20 .... :)
so i must stay on FFTGPU ...

Offline Devaster

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
  • I like Duke !!!
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #78 on: 07 Apr 2007, 06:22:01 pm »
Next performance issue : power spectrum calculated on GPU is (i dont now why) VERY slow ...
Rapidmind perf issue ? maybe ....

zac

  • Guest
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #79 on: 10 Apr 2007, 03:34:52 am »
Very interesting.
i wanna know What kind of results are you seeing vs. CPU-only performance?

Offline Devaster

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
  • I like Duke !!!
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #80 on: 10 Apr 2007, 01:08:35 pm »
optimized CPU versus my GPU ???
GPU powerspectrum is veeeeeeeeeery slow , but  i think i have found why : context switching.

i initialize rapidmind before client graphics and i am running under vista with aero ....
so i think there is doing next :
rapidmind must upload all data ,calculate and download all data. when awro need GPU and graphics memory then in middle of calculation again - stop calc, data download, aero upload ,calc,aero download, data upload and continue calc .....

Offline Simon

  • Ni!
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No...its-the.net!
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #81 on: 10 Apr 2007, 04:04:22 pm »
Ouch!

Good thought though, sounds very plausible, especially since Vista likes to poll ALL hardware every few microseconds. Have you tried with XP/XP64?

Regards,
Simon.

Offline Devaster

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
  • I like Duke !!!
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #82 on: 10 Apr 2007, 04:12:46 pm »
i havent installed it  :-\
but i think i will return to old good wxp... ::)

Offline Vyper

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight Templar
  • ***
  • Posts: 376
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #83 on: 11 Apr 2007, 06:45:19 am »
Switch of the Aero interface and the Gfx is running in 2d mode (I know i've checked)
..

I have modified a 8800 bios with throttling and 2d mode, it works and i've checked
that atitool reports lower mem/gpu clocks and if it does it runs in 2d only mode leaving all GPU cycles to your program..

Try again before reinstalling :)

Kind Reg Vyper

Offline Devaster

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 653
  • I like Duke !!!
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #84 on: 11 Apr 2007, 08:48:52 am »
maybe another reason : MS in Vista has fu***d off any opengl support and rapidmind is running on opengl ....

i compile a brook version with all four backends (cpu,opengl,dx9,ctm) and i will see ....

« Last Edit: 11 Apr 2007, 08:51:32 am by Devaster »

Offline Vyper

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight Templar
  • ***
  • Posts: 376
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #85 on: 11 Apr 2007, 11:20:55 am »
Yea do so, btw i see u like Duke nukem..

If u search the Mule network for duke nukem in a rar package u can find the duke nukem midis that i have personally  retuned with real soundbanks to download if u want some flashbacks from that time and game :D

Duke Nukem Midi Collection Complete in Mp3.rar

//Vyper

P.S Opengl support works its albeit abit slower than in XP.. D.S
« Last Edit: 11 Apr 2007, 11:29:54 am by Vyper »

ThierryH

  • Guest
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #86 on: 12 Apr 2007, 02:54:43 am »
Hello all

I found a way to divide by 2 or 3 seti wu crunch time with CUDA. I didn't code since more than 15 years. It could take me very long time to do it. So, I'm searching interesting persons to work with me on it.

The way to do:
Like Devaster saw it, there's no gain to expect to try GPU crunching on "regular" functions where we generally concentred our optimizing effort. But there's still one function where we done a very poor job bacause it's probabely not possible to do better: find_pulse. With very good job made on other functions, find_pulse is now running more than half time. The goal is to parallelize this function on CUDA to excecute it 128 times simultaneously and divide his excecution time by 128, or more because this kind of calculations is normally more efficient on GPU. Do to that, we have to find a new way to call the function, and a way to call ReportPulseEvent with results inside GPU.

Hope some of you will follow me in this attempt to dramaticaly reduce find_pulse excecution time :)

Offline Vyper

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight Templar
  • ***
  • Posts: 376
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #87 on: 12 Apr 2007, 07:14:35 am »
Hi

Yea Cuda api on the 8800 series have 128 shader units on the GTX and 96 on the TS..

But!! Cuda api only has 16 available GPU units on the GTX and 12 on the GTS, so yes there is a possibility to divide up the workload on 12 vs. 16 GPU units.

But as u said, the programming is intense and nowadays i cant program as well, it was different back then i programmed O/S friendly assembly programming on the Amiga O/S :)

Kind Reg Vyper

currey

  • Guest
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #88 on: 12 Apr 2007, 11:47:42 am »
i dunno if its possible but what about a tool that emulates all gpu cores to windows.
i know gpu cores dont have those things like sse eg. and are more simple than a normal cpu, but with that kinda tool you dont have to code a different code for every software gpu crunching is used for.

But the whole idea of gpu crunching is awesome. all boinc projects have a combined power of 502.201 TeraFLOPS by 250k active user. if only 20k use a fast gpu and are able to crunch with it these 20k create a gpu power of 750.000 TeraFLOPS (estimated to app. 30x speed up) AWESOME for distributive computing.

looking forward for your works, if ya need someone running test on a 8800gts, just let me know.

ThierryH

  • Guest
Re: GPU crunching question
« Reply #89 on: 12 Apr 2007, 12:04:02 pm »
i dunno if its possible but what about a tool that emulates all gpu cores to windows.
i know gpu cores dont have those things like sse eg. and are more simple than a normal cpu, but with that kinda tool you dont have to code a different code for every software gpu crunching is used for.


It's the goal of CUDA. But it's a nVidia tool...

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59559
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 355
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 45
Total: 45
Powered by EzPortal