+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: About the Usefullness: Optimized SETI@apps for AMD64 Opteron with SSE4a  (Read 12906 times)

paxv

Hi to all:

Though not a complete noob I restarted crunching just recently (did crunch for the old Seti project before)

I was wondering:

Would it be usefull to have any SSE4a Optimized apps for the AMD Opteron 2376+ line?
I do know there is a SSE4a for AMD but does it enhance performance like the SSE4.1 and 4.2 used by Intel? ::)

And last question:

I'm crunching happily with my 2 Quad Core 2376 Opterons (2.3 Ghz) on SSE3 now though, for half the money of an 940 Core i7 processor based system. ;) With a good Mobo and 16 Gb of RAM it works nice. I use a Cuda videocard (Nvidia 9600GT 1Gb) but have 8 cores:
Can I crunch with two different systems at once: maybe enhanced on 1 processor, and 7* astropulse v5? If so: can one lock this?

Greetings,

Ronald Zaneveld aka PaxV

I hope to get to 9k-10k points a day average (using 20 hrs for an astropulse v5.0 unit times 7) so roughly I make 7*24 hrs/20 packages a day 8.4*1250pts=10,5k points a day average with one processorline working on Leiden and Einstein.  :o

Thanks to AK and all others for your inspiring work.

Offline Raistmer

• Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
Would it be usefull to have any SSE4a Optimized apps for the AMD Opteron 2376+ line?
I do know there is a SSE4a for AMD but does it enhance performance like the SSE4.1 and 4.2 used by Intel? ::)
Do you know someone who will do SSE4a opt app? There is no SSE4a support for now so your question is very theoretical one.

paxv