+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization  (Read 154560 times)

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #240 on: 23 Jan 2009, 11:04:04 am »
I don't know if this will helps you

http://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Anonymous_platform


Thanks, that was what I was looking for. Unfortunately I think I've already used

<avg_ncpus>3.0000</avg_ncpus>
<max_ncpus>3.0000</max_ncpus>

for AP with not the desired effect. Maybe I'll try again.

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #241 on: 23 Jan 2009, 12:04:21 pm »
use <ncpus>Ncores+1</ncpus> in cc_config.xml instead. IT works much better than fiddling with CPU shares.

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #242 on: 23 Jan 2009, 12:09:42 pm »
Raistmer here's the thing: I want to force 3+1 in a quad (not 4+1).

When I use <ncpus>4</ncpus> in cc_config.xml, boinc runs 4+1 when it is in normal mode and 3+1 in high priority mode.
When I use <ncpus>3</ncpus>, boinc runs 3+1 normal and 2+1 high priority.

All these are in boinc linux. Maybe it is a bug/feature?
« Last Edit: 23 Jan 2009, 12:12:00 pm by sunu »

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #243 on: 23 Jan 2009, 12:17:00 pm »
then try 2. If you don't care about idle cores it should work.  :P

Offline Jason G

  • Construction Fraggle
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 8980
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #244 on: 23 Jan 2009, 12:20:39 pm »
Or you can try this: change the amount of cpus for the GPU app in the app_info file from 0.04, to 1  (or even 2  if needed)  then boinc can't allocate those cores to something else.  You might also want to check the flops setting in there is higher than for the CPU app (You can add #cpus (i.e. 1) and flops to CPU app section if it isn't there), so GPU app gets allocated first and hogs the required number of cores (x1)  prior to CPU apps being allocated(x remaining 3).

Jason
« Last Edit: 23 Jan 2009, 12:23:08 pm by Jason G »

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #245 on: 23 Jan 2009, 12:28:58 pm »
from 0.04, to 1  (or even 2  if needed)
Jason

I've never tried 2. I was stopping to 1  :)

New ideas, thanks!

Offline Jason G

  • Construction Fraggle
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 8980
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #246 on: 23 Jan 2009, 12:31:05 pm »
You could even try 1.04, if 2 cuts back too much,  that may play nicer with the newer CPU juggling with EDF mode.

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #247 on: 23 Jan 2009, 12:35:34 pm »
Thanks Jason.

Regarding your previous post, I didn't know the trick with flops. Can I put just an arbitrary number?

Offline Jason G

  • Construction Fraggle
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 8980
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #248 on: 23 Jan 2009, 12:44:03 pm »
Yep, I gather it's just relative, but I would look how much GFLops in BoincView CPU app acheives, put that value (in Flops) for the CPU, then multiply by 2-5 (as appropriate for the card speed against CPU) for the GPU version.

Jason

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #249 on: 23 Jan 2009, 12:52:05 pm »
I can't use boincview (linux). I've found some flop numbers in client_state.xml and I'll play with them.

Offline Slawek

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #250 on: 24 Jan 2009, 07:24:00 am »
if some one want here is cufft and cudart  dlls from last CUDA 2.1 final :

stop boinc unpack and replace in boinc data dirs the old  dlls

Any imp. computing  ?

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #251 on: 24 Jan 2009, 09:36:58 am »
Just a FYI. Whatever I tried, flops, avg_ncpus, maxncpus in app_info.xml in order to force 3+1 in a quad didn't have any effect. The only thing that seems to work is

<avg_ncpus>1.3400</avg_ncpus>
<max_ncpus>1.3400</max_ncpus>

in AP section of app_info.xml. But that possibly means that If there is no MB work, only 3 cores will be used. Whatever I did in MB section seemed irrelevant.
« Last Edit: 24 Jan 2009, 09:51:24 am by sunu »

Offline Jason G

  • Construction Fraggle
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 8980
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #252 on: 24 Jan 2009, 09:46:18 am »
...
in AP section of app_info.xml. Whatever I did in MB section seemed irrelevant.

Ahhh, of course, I think in 6.4.5 or higher they might have made it ignore the Cuda CPU component! LoL. Madness  ;D

ceciltseng

  • Guest
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #253 on: 29 Jan 2009, 01:00:08 am »
hi all ,
AP5.0 SSE4.1  + CUDA MB possible to use now?   ( 64 bit version is wonderful )
« Last Edit: 29 Jan 2009, 01:03:08 am by ceciltseng »

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Modified SETI MB CUDA + opt AP package for full GPU utilization
« Reply #254 on: 29 Jan 2009, 03:55:00 am »
hi all ,
AP5.0 SSE4.1  + CUDA MB possible to use now?   ( 64 bit version is wonderful )
There is no SSE4.1 AP at all, did you mean AK_v8 SSE4.1 ? I found not improvement in speed for SSE4.1 over SSSE3x version. In multicore system SSSE3 performs better actually (but difference pretty slow anyway). So I don't plan to do separate SSE4.1 version. Also, there is no AP x64 build for now.

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59559
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 652
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 638
Total: 638
Powered by EzPortal