+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: Intel OpenCL  (Read 18443 times)

Offline cristipurdel

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 123
Intel OpenCL
« on: 20 Nov 2010, 01:28:39 pm »
Saw this a couple of days ago: http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-opencl-sdk/

Would it be possible to develop an app using the intel opencl sdk, so that it can run also on their Execution units?
Here it say that they'll support OpenCL 1.1. To have a smooth transition for Larabee maybe :)

Still, if there will be opencl running on intel Sandy Bridge, I would really love a to see a battle with Zacate for the low-end devices :).

Offline _heinz

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 2117
Re: Intel OpenCL
« Reply #1 on: 20 Nov 2010, 02:11:28 pm »
I downloaded it.
But it is still for testing.
Q – Can I use this version of the Intel® OpenCL SDK to release commercial OpenCL products?
A – No. The current version of the Intel® OpenCL SDK is only a technology preview and can only be used for exploration and validation. You cannot release standalone applications that use this version of the SDK.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
so far I will try and explore it
heinz

Offline cristipurdel

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 123
Re: Intel OpenCL
« Reply #2 on: 20 Nov 2010, 02:21:27 pm »
so far I will try and explore it
heinz
Dreaming of a 17W Sandy Bridge running 2 + 2 + 12 seti tasks :P

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Intel OpenCL
« Reply #3 on: 20 Nov 2010, 03:10:45 pm »
Would it be possible to develop an app using the intel opencl sdk, so that it can run also on their Execution units?
In theory already released OpenCL apps should work w/o rebuild. But...

Offline Frizz

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 541
Re: Intel OpenCL
« Reply #4 on: 20 Nov 2010, 04:13:01 pm »
Dreaming of a 17W Sandy Bridge running 2 + 2 + 12 seti tasks :P
Quote

do you know if the integrated GPU of sandy/-ivy bridge will support OpenCL - or only the CPU?
Please stop using this 1366x768 glare displays: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_153240404724993

Offline cristipurdel

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 123
Re: Intel OpenCL
« Reply #5 on: 20 Nov 2010, 04:35:59 pm »
Dreaming of a 17W Sandy Bridge running 2 + 2 + 12 seti tasks :P
Quote

do you know if the integrated GPU of sandy/-ivy bridge will support OpenCL - or only the CPU?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GMA_HD#HD_Graphics_.28GMA_HD.29 ;)

Offline cristipurdel

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 123
Re: Intel OpenCL
« Reply #6 on: 22 Nov 2010, 02:03:06 am »
... Number of CL Platforms : 3 on an intel + nvidia system :P
Apparently OpenCL is the ...future :)

Offline Frizz

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 541
Re: Intel OpenCL
« Reply #7 on: 24 Nov 2010, 03:12:44 pm »
1) I would like to try AMDs OpenCL CPU implementation (because of printf(), etc. *g*). Are there any limitations when using the CPU device compared to the GPU device? I think local work groups was limited to 1 for CPU, no?

2) Another question: When I change local work group size, does it have an impact on the algorithm itself (besides performance)?
Please stop using this 1366x768 glare displays: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_153240404724993

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Intel OpenCL
« Reply #8 on: 24 Nov 2010, 03:24:02 pm »
Not right thread for such questions IMO, but :) :
1) max workgroup size remains the same.
Look into stderr of AP task, it liss device parameters.
2) yes, algorithm can change indeed. For example, look my post about why NV MB build should not work with workgroup size of 32.
[more technically, kernel aware of its launch parameters, in particular, about workgroup size, via get_local_size() call.
So, surely it can and sometimes will behave differently for different workgroup sizes]
« Last Edit: 24 Nov 2010, 03:33:38 pm by Raistmer »

Offline cristipurdel

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 123
Re: Intel OpenCL
« Reply #9 on: 03 Jan 2011, 06:43:26 pm »
So now OpenCL on Intel EUs....grrrr

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59559
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 98
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 69
Total: 69
Powered by EzPortal