+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: Is sse3 required for ATI CAL support?  (Read 17088 times)

BeemerBiker

  • Guest
Is sse3 required for ATI CAL support?
« on: 25 Feb 2010, 08:22:34 pm »
About midway down here the ATIStream SDK states that SSE 3.x is required.  Is that requirement for the SDK only or for applications developed by the SDK?  For example, the HD 4670 is an AGP card supported by the SDK, and can fit in an old dual XEON mombo I got, but the XEON's are the Gallatin seriies and although very good, do not have SSE3.

I noticed that the optimized SETI ATI app is SSE3 and this provoked my question.

Thanks for looking.

[EDIT] - fixed typo where I had 5670
« Last Edit: 25 Feb 2010, 08:56:46 pm by BeemerBiker »

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Is sse3 required for ATI CAL support?
« Reply #1 on: 25 Feb 2010, 08:45:02 pm »
About midway down here the ATIStream SDK states that SSE 3.x is required.  Is that requirement for the SDK only or for applications developed by the SDK?  For example, the HD 5670 is an AGP card supported by the SDK, and can fit in an old dual XEON mombo I got, but the XEON's are the Gallatin seriies and although very good, do not have SSE3.

I noticed that the optimized SETI ATI app is SSE3 and this provoked my question.

Thanks for looking.
Where did you find an AGP version of the HD5670 ? Mine has PEG.
_\|/_
U r s

BeemerBiker

  • Guest
Re: Is sse3 required for ATI CAL support?
« Reply #2 on: 25 Feb 2010, 08:48:20 pm »
About midway down here the ATIStream SDK states that SSE 3.x is required.  Is that requirement for the SDK only or for applications developed by the SDK?  For example, the HD 5670 is an AGP card supported by the SDK, and can fit in an old dual XEON mombo I got, but the XEON's are the Gallatin seriies and although very good, do not have SSE3.

I noticed that the optimized SETI ATI app is SSE3 and this provoked my question.

Thanks for looking.
Where did you find an AGP version of the HD5670 ? Mine has PEG.


Just went to newegg and poked around
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161284

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Is sse3 required for ATI CAL support?
« Reply #3 on: 25 Feb 2010, 08:52:41 pm »
Just went to newegg and poked around
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161284
That link leads to a HD4670, instead. But from AMD dev forum i now that AGP versions are not working with the stream SDK.

A CPU with SSE3 or better is needed, indeed.
« Last Edit: 26 Feb 2010, 06:09:24 am by Urs Echternacht »
_\|/_
U r s

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Is sse3 required for ATI CAL support?
« Reply #4 on: 26 Feb 2010, 02:39:16 am »
Not sure that SSE3 needed for GPU version. It required for OpenCL CPU build cause vector operations mapped to corresponding SSE instruction perhaps.

BeemerBiker

  • Guest
Re: Is sse3 required for ATI CAL support?
« Reply #5 on: 14 Apr 2010, 09:05:42 am »
Not sure that SSE3 needed for GPU version. It required for OpenCL CPU build cause vector operations mapped to corresponding SSE instruction perhaps.


It would appear that sse3 is used according to a post here near the bottom.  Quoting from the post: "Program received signal SIGILL, Illegal instruction.  For every sample program...  and similarly now for CAL (which actually sort-of worked with an older driver under it). I assume this is because it is hitting an SSE3 instruction?"

The poster was trying to get an AGP version of the 4650 to work on an older cpu.  Exactly like what I was thinking about at one time.  He did not get an answer as to whether the library was avilable w/o the sse3

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Is sse3 required for ATI CAL support?
« Reply #6 on: 14 Apr 2010, 10:30:16 am »
Currently SSE3 support considered as required for ATI AP based on OpenCL.
BUT SSE3 not required for CAL itself. Moreover, there is Brook+-based hybrid ATI/CPU app that supports SSE-only CPUs. One can download it from beta forum on this site.

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59559
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 34
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 25
Total: 25
Powered by EzPortal