+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: Initial public release - SSE Linux optimized Seti@Home client (5.15)  (Read 19746 times)

Offline Simon

  • Ni!
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No...its-the.net!
Hi everyone,

this client has been compiled using Intel's excellent compiler and library package (Links in the Links section, also in the How-To). It's version 5.15 and based on Eric Korpela's source tarballs.

It has been tested on a lot of different hardware - various Pentium 3, Athlon XP and Duron-based machines. The results it produces have validated 100% in all tests.

Still, if you decide to use this client, it's at your own risk. Despite all testing that has gone into making sure it performs valid science and does so quickly, something might go wrong. YMMV.

That said, here's the download link:

Linux SSE-optimized Seti@Home client (UPX-compressed)
Linux SSE-optimized Seti@Home client (uncompressed)

Please post whether it worked for you or not!
You will have to register before you can post.

Installation is very simple - when you unpack the archive, it will put all its files into a directory called "setiathome-5.15-kwsn-sse". Copy the contents of that folder (all files inside it, not the directory!) into BOINC/projects/setiathome.berkeley.edu.

You should test whether it works on your platform before copying it - simply run it in the directory you unpacked it to. This way, if something goes wrong, you won't lose your cached WUs.

Then simply restart (stop and start) your BOINC client, it should recognize the app_info.xml and resume all your WUs for you.

Regards,
Simon
« Last Edit: 12 Sep 2010, 12:21:39 am by Gecko »

Offline Metod, S56RKO

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight o' The Realm
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
Simon,

this is great news. Thanks a lot!

BTW, any chance to get uncompressed version? It does annoy me a bit to see a 4 instead of setiathome_5.15_kwsn_whatever in output of top.

Offline Simon

  • Ni!
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No...its-the.net!
Coming right up :) Just haven't uploaded it yet. Thanks for reminding me!

The downloads area now has both UPX-compressed and uncompressed binaries.

Interestingly, the UPX-compressed binaries show up with their real name in my "top" or "ps aux". What distro are you using again?

Regards,
Simon.
« Last Edit: 01 Jul 2006, 04:33:20 pm by Simon »

Offline Metod, S56RKO

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight o' The Realm
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
Interestingly, the UPX-compressed binaries show up with their real name in my "top" or "ps aux". What distro are you using again?

Debian sarge, RedHat 7.3 or Gentoo. I've een the same on Slackware.

pgy

  • Guest
I see the same with the compressed client on FC4 - just '4'. The uncompressed version looks right in top.

Offline s52d

  • Alpha Tester
  • Squire
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
hi!

Beside 4, I've seen 3 and 5.
ps shows OK, but top shows 3/4/5

example (P4HT), top:
 30241 boinc     39  19 78632  63m  11m R  1.0  3.1  85:38.65 5
   5516 iztok     16   0  1968 1080 1756 R  0.7  0.1   0:00.02 top
ps:

boinc    27216 23139 28 00:18 pts/4    05:47:59 setiathome-5.15-sse2
boinc    30241 23139  9 05:39 pts/4    01:25:41 setiathome-5.15-sse2

anyhow, it runs, it pushes my top box over 1500 RAC, thanks!

73
Iztok

Offline Simon

  • Ni!
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No...its-the.net!
You're welcome :)

Thanks for pasting that.

Next versions will hopefully eliminate the need for binary compression. Right now, the Windows clients are my priority (since I just got that license).

Regards,
Simon.

Offline hiamps

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • Swans Candles and Supplies
Well thanks for trying...We better be careful and not stress test simon...We need him in good form.

kruemelmaus

  • Guest
Hi Simon,

just  thought you'd be interested in results from a more uncommon platform...

Your Linux SSE optimized client ist running pretty fine on this little net appliance:

root@ipcop:~ # uname -a
Linux ipcop.localdomain.xx 2.4.31 #1 Fri Aug 26 01:32:48 GMT 2005 i686 CentaurHauls unknown GNU/Linux

root@ipcop:~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : CentaurHauls
cpu family      : 6
model           : 9
model name      : VIA Nehemiah
stepping        : 8
cpu MHz         : 1199.806
cache size      : 64 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 1
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr sep mtrr pge cmov pat mmx fxsr sse xstore
bogomips        : 2392.06

latest valid result so far: http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/result.php?resultid=352933795

Many thanks for your time&efforts  !!

best regards,
              kruemelmaus

Offline Simon

  • Ni!
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No...its-the.net!
Oh, a Centaur :)

I must admit that I have not seen too many of them around, no. Thanks for sharing your results!

When I get some time, I'll compile an MMX-compatible Linux app as well as the same spread of optimized apps as for Windows.

Regards,
Simon.
« Last Edit: 13 Jul 2006, 04:57:42 pm by Simon »

kruemelmaus

  • Guest
Simon,

thanks for the fast reply...far too kind, far too kind...

[...]
When I get some time, I'll compile an MMX-compatible Linux app as well as the same spread of optimized apps as for Windows.
[...]

Since i am not a subject matter expert on this topic, i cannot say whether this is worth the effort.
The little Centaur should be capable of running MMX and SSE apps and your SSE version is aready giving it a VERY good boost  ;D

If you think it is worth it, i'd volounteer and  try to test (or at least to run the benchmarks) on my little ipcop   ::)

regards,
        kruemelmaus

Offline Simon

  • Ni!
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
    • Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No...its-the.net!
I don't think the MMX version would work more quickly on your Centaur - however, there are still a lot of people out there whose computers only support MMX.

The SSE version will remain the quickest for your system :)

Regards,
Simon.

kruemelmaus

  • Guest
....than i'll hapilly follow your recommendation and stick with the SSE version, thank you !  :D

BTW: your windows apps are also doing fine on my side (altough off-topic in this part of the forum)

-> Thinkpad with Pentium M 1700MHz, running the SSE2 P-M version: http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/result.php?resultid=353135589

Again, thank you for such a fine piece of craftsmanship !

regards,
        kruemelmaus

pgy

  • Guest
Hi Simon,

I got an error result with the Linux SSE version. The other replications didn't error out.

You might want to take a look.

Cheers,
P

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59559
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 19
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 16
Total: 16
Powered by EzPortal