+- +-
Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

MB/AP Bench Test Instruction by William
17 Jun 2016, 04:13:45 am

Author Topic: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications  (Read 42090 times)

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #15 on: 15 Sep 2009, 02:09:38 pm »
Nope. I have contacted dotsch.de about it already. I am giving up installing seti on 64bit freebsd 7.2. No working seti client for this OS exists on the net:-(
tsk.  >:( dotsch will be able to help, i hope.
_\|/_
U r s

Offline zvonas

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • XJR-X350
    • Real estate in Czech Republic
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #16 on: 15 Sep 2009, 08:45:26 pm »
No response from him. Just delivery notification of my email. Maybe he is busy. However I have found working BOINC client for 64bit FreeBSD 7.2 and 64bit SETI app too, but they are unoptimized and run very very slow on my machine...
http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/show_host_detail.php?hostid=5106981
„Nikdy se nebojme vzdát se dobrého pro lepší.“

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #17 on: 16 Sep 2009, 05:04:28 am »
No response from him. Just delivery notification of my email. Maybe he is busy. However I have found working BOINC client for 64bit FreeBSD 7.2 and 64bit SETI app too, but they are unoptimized and run very very slow on my machine...
http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/show_host_detail.php?hostid=5106981
That cpu type BOINC shows is funnny, must be a coproduction:
amd64
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X3360 @ 2.83GHz
  :D
_\|/_
U r s

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14347
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #18 on: 16 Sep 2009, 05:07:48 am »
only correct if AMD64 is inherent name of x64 platform.
Intel didn't conform this name (hehe, direct concurents) and uses anything but AMD64, but "true name" AMD64 still ;)

Offline zvonas

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • XJR-X350
    • Real estate in Czech Republic
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #19 on: 16 Sep 2009, 04:01:53 pm »
Yes, that is platform name only, set by FreeBSD. I was laughing loud as well when I saw that first time  ;D
Here is my second computer running the same system, but this IS genuine AMD Opteron ;D
http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/show_host_detail.php?hostid=5108564
„Nikdy se nebojme vzdát se dobrého pro lepší.“

Offline zvonas

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • XJR-X350
    • Real estate in Czech Republic
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #20 on: 18 Sep 2009, 09:05:31 am »
Urs, bitte bitte sehr ;)
FreeBSD 64 bit APP :'(
„Nikdy se nebojme vzdát se dobrého pro lepší.“

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #21 on: 18 Sep 2009, 12:46:32 pm »
Urs, bitte bitte sehr ;)
FreeBSD 64 bit APP :'(
Have a little bit more patience, please. It is in the top 3 of my todo list-now!  ;)
_\|/_
U r s

Offline zvonas

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • XJR-X350
    • Real estate in Czech Republic
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #22 on: 21 Sep 2009, 02:06:15 pm »
Thank you very much Urs! ;)
„Nikdy se nebojme vzdát se dobrého pro lepší.“

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #23 on: 29 Sep 2009, 01:33:27 pm »
Thank you very much Urs! ;)
zvonas,
please check the "Public Beta Release Applications" here at lunatics for FreeBSD7.2 64bit AstroPulse applications.
Would be nice if you could report if these work for you or not.  :)
_\|/_
U r s

Offline zvonas

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • XJR-X350
    • Real estate in Czech Republic
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #24 on: 30 Sep 2009, 07:49:55 am »
Hi,

I have installed the SSE3 x64 FreeBSD version. However I get this message:
30-Aug-2009 13:51:40 [SETI@home] Message from server: Your app_info.xml file doesn't have a version of SETI@home Enhanced.

So this executable is for Astropulse only... I think. It doesn't try to download workunits however there were http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/sah_status.html some available both enahanced and AP WU's.
How can I get to compute both enhanced and AP units?

Thanx again for your work.
« Last Edit: 30 Sep 2009, 07:52:23 am by zvonas »
„Nikdy se nebojme vzdát se dobrého pro lepší.“

pp

  • Guest
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #25 on: 30 Sep 2009, 08:22:09 am »
I'd like to see an SSSE3 capable 64-bit MB for FreeBSD 7.2 too. I've never been able to build the stock MB in ports and it pulls in an enourmous amount of xorg libraries trying to build it, poisining my CLI only FreeBSD router...  :(

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #26 on: 30 Sep 2009, 08:52:28 am »
Hi,

I have installed the SSE3 x64 FreeBSD version. However I get this message:
30-Aug-2009 13:51:40 [SETI@home] Message from server: Your app_info.xml file doesn't have a version of SETI@home Enhanced.

So this executable is for Astropulse only... I think. It doesn't try to download workunits however there were http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/sah_status.html some available both enahanced and AP WU's.
How can I get to compute both enhanced and AP units?

Thanx again for your work.
The AstroPulse checkboxes (for discontinued astropulse and astropulse_v5) are useless for current applications.
Allowing work for other applications checkbox needs to be checked.
That will allow getting current astropulse_v505 (<- this is the current project name) workunits.
Then the app_info.xml file is used to allow work for in it listed applications. So both enhanced and astropulse_v505 need to have a section in that app_info.xml.

Hope that helps.
« Last Edit: 30 Sep 2009, 08:56:32 am by Urs Echternacht »
_\|/_
U r s

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #27 on: 30 Sep 2009, 08:54:11 am »
I'd like to see an SSSE3 capable 64-bit MB for FreeBSD 7.2 too. I've never been able to build the stock MB in ports and it pulls in an enourmous amount of xorg libraries trying to build it, poisining my CLI only FreeBSD router...  :(
Seems that version has graphics enabled. Otherwise that would not be needed.
« Last Edit: 30 Sep 2009, 09:02:57 am by Urs Echternacht »
_\|/_
U r s

Offline zvonas

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • XJR-X350
    • Real estate in Czech Republic
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #28 on: 30 Sep 2009, 02:53:13 pm »
Ok. I have modified the app_info for using both executables and checked the checkbox in my profile. Now it is running. It's crunching enhanced units now. I have to wait for boinc to download first AP units. Then I will let ya know  ;) thanx for advice
„Nikdy se nebojme vzdát se dobrého pro lepší.“

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Open BSD i386 Seti@HOME Applications
« Reply #29 on: 30 Sep 2009, 04:10:33 pm »
Ok. I have modified the app_info for using both executables and checked the checkbox in my profile. Now it is running. It's crunching enhanced units now. I have to wait for boinc to download first AP units. Then I will let ya know  ;) thanx for advice
Hope you get your first AstroPulse wu within the next two weeks. Longer i do not intend to let these in beta state.
Also that the SSE2 version could run faster on AMD CPUs is not tested yet, maybe you want to volunteer ?

"Advice" part:
Don't forget, you need for AstroPulse some other libraries than the FreeBSD ports collection currently delivers. Check with ldd "application", where "application" is the name of the executable file, that you do not miss any libraries, please. (Writing these in the assumption that no one reads my Readme files  :'().
_\|/_
U r s

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59551
Total Topics: 1671
Most Online Today: 18
Most Online Ever: 402
(15 Nov 2018, 02:33:34 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 17
Total: 17
Powered by EzPortal