+- +-
Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

MB/AP Bench Test Instruction by William
17 Jun 2016, 04:13:45 am

Author Topic: Linux x64 AP v5.05  (Read 25794 times)

Offline arkayn

  • Janitor o' the Board
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
  • Aaaarrrrgggghhhh
    • My Little Place On The Internet
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #15 on: 18 Aug 2009, 08:29:47 am »
Not in beta downloads, but in the beta section of the forums.

http://lunatics.kwsn.net/18-astropulse-testing/beta-testing-of-astropulse-5-06-for-64bit-linux-with-sse3-capable-cpu.msg20439.html;topicseen#msg20439

Still have to be a squire to access that part of the forum.

lordvader

  • Guest
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #16 on: 18 Aug 2009, 08:47:46 am »
*sigh*

The lowly live of a knave ...

Gecko_R7

  • Guest
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #17 on: 18 Aug 2009, 09:59:54 am »
*sigh*

The lowly live of a knave ...

You mean Stormtrooper?  :P

lordvader

  • Guest
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #18 on: 19 Aug 2009, 01:00:02 am »
SNAP !

Without appearing as a spammer trying to get his post count up ( ;) ), how many posts until I get promoted ?

You mean Stormtrooper? :P

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #19 on: 19 Aug 2009, 05:53:50 am »
Without appearing as a spammer trying to get his post count up ( ;) ), how many posts until I get promoted ?

Five, you have two more to go.

Guys, please test the released astropulse clients. If there is no interest in them then there is no point releasing future ones.

Offline arkayn

  • Janitor o' the Board
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
  • Aaaarrrrgggghhhh
    • My Little Place On The Internet
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #20 on: 19 Aug 2009, 02:01:03 pm »
I would love too, but I do not have any machines currently running Linux at the moment.

Tye

  • Guest
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #21 on: 19 Aug 2009, 08:53:26 pm »
Without appearing as a spammer trying to get his post count up ( ;) ), how many posts until I get promoted ?

Five, you have two more to go.

Guys, please test the released astropulse clients. If there is no interest in them then there is no point releasing future ones.

I just d/l'd the AMD one and will be setting it up right now to test it on my dual core Ath64...

lordvader

  • Guest
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #22 on: 19 Aug 2009, 09:20:18 pm »
Well I'm willing to test. I'm gonna up my posts, then download when I get home from work tonight.

lordvader

  • Guest
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #23 on: 19 Aug 2009, 09:20:47 pm »
Last one (I hope there's AP units available !)

lordvader

  • Guest
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #24 on: 20 Aug 2009, 04:47:00 am »
Downloaded and installed.

I'm assuming this version isn't compatible with 505 units ?

Is there anything I need to do to my boinc/seti config to get 506 WUs ?

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #25 on: 20 Aug 2009, 05:19:51 am »
Don't be fooled by the name, it is really a 5.05 client.

You have to change seti@home preferences in your account so that "If no work for selected applications is available, accept work from other applications". Also turn off seti@home enhanced in the selected applications list.

Offline Claggy

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3111
    • My computers at Seti Beta
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #26 on: 20 Aug 2009, 05:28:58 am »
Don't be fooled by the name, it is really a 5.05 client.

You have to change seti@home preferences in your account so that "If no work for selected applications is available, accept work from other applications". Also turn off seti@home enhanced in the selected applications list.

Since Urs has posted:


NOT FOR RELEASE. Not Intended for distribution or use on main.

and the Seti Beta project only uses Astropulse, and Doesn't use Astropulse_v5 or Astropulse_v505,
you Don't need to set  "If no work for selected applications is available, accept work from other applications" to yes, leave it at no,
just make sure you select Astropulse to yes (the Astropulse_5 entry doesn't do anything) and deselect setiathome enhanced.

Claggy

Edit: see: optimized AP
« Last Edit: 20 Aug 2009, 05:47:49 am by Claggy »

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #27 on: 20 Aug 2009, 07:22:03 am »
Don't be fooled by the name, it is really a 5.05 client.

You have to change seti@home preferences in your account so that "If no work for selected applications is available, accept work from other applications". Also turn off seti@home enhanced in the selected applications list.
It might be irritating a bit that linux has a different application name, but that is also the case with the standard application. Check the SaH applications page for the actual version naming. Important is only that 5.05/5.06 produce comparable results for the validation process.
_\|/_
U r s

lordvader

  • Guest
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #28 on: 20 Aug 2009, 07:36:26 pm »
So I've been running AP overnight. 4 units completed, none validated, but 1 did fail with a computation error :

http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/result.php?resultid=1339606984
http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/result.php?resultid=1339613053

Hopefully there's some info in there for debug. My CPU isn't overclocked, and isn't overheating, so it's probably not that. It may be a completely random error though ...

*EDIT*
2 computarion errors.

Is this the best place to report these errors ?
« Last Edit: 21 Aug 2009, 02:35:25 am by lordvader »

Offline arkayn

  • Janitor o' the Board
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
  • Aaaarrrrgggghhhh
    • My Little Place On The Internet
Re: Linux x64 AP v5.05
« Reply #29 on: 21 Aug 2009, 03:07:21 am »
I don't think you can run it on the main board yet, it is only for the Beta at the moment.

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59551
Total Topics: 1671
Most Online Today: 13
Most Online Ever: 402
(15 Nov 2018, 02:33:34 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 7
Total: 7
Powered by EzPortal