+- +-
Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

MB/AP Bench Test Instruction by William
17 Jun 2016, 04:13:45 am

Author Topic: 64-bit SSE2 app?  (Read 9182 times)

Offline michael37

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
64-bit SSE2 app?
« on: 23 Apr 2009, 10:30:33 am »
Does anyone have AP SSE2 64-bit app?   Link on Crunch3r's website points nowhere, and link here doesn't work.

I have Core 2 Duo T5300 which can execute SSE3 64-bit version, but it errors out all the time.  I don't know if it's a problem of AP or SSE3 app on a CPU which has limited SSE3 support.  MB SSE2 64-bit works fine.

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #1 on: 23 Apr 2009, 11:05:22 am »
I've been running the sse3 64 bit app since it's release with absolutely not a single problem.

For sse2 64bit app try this:

 http://calbe.dw70.de/astrop/V5/ap_503_sse2_lx64.tar.bz2
« Last Edit: 23 Apr 2009, 11:09:24 am by sunu »

Offline Vyper

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight Templar
  • ***
  • Posts: 376
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #2 on: 23 Apr 2009, 11:23:35 am »
Thats really weird. Your cpu is most definitely a true native sse3 based cpu.

You can even run ssse3 code on it too.

Try to upgrade to latest boinc executable..

Kind regards Vyper

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #3 on: 23 Apr 2009, 11:37:43 am »
Michael, is  this you? Can you give us a link to this host because they are hidden?

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #4 on: 23 Apr 2009, 01:04:32 pm »
michael37, can you copy and paste one of the error messages from the failed wus on your T5300 host to this forum, please. That way we could better decide what causes the errors you see, thank you.
_\|/_
U r s

Offline michael37

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #5 on: 23 Apr 2009, 05:02:29 pm »
Sure, the host is here.

http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/results.php?hostid=4884128

Errors are like this:

<core_client_version>6.2.18</core_client_version>
<![CDATA[
<message>
process exited with code 193 (0xc1, -63)
</message>
<stderr_txt>
In ap_gfx_main.cpp: in ap_graphics_init(): Starting client.
AstroPulse v. 5.03
Linux 64 bit
FFTW   USE_CONVERSION_OPT   USE_SSE3   
SIGSEGV: segmentation violation
Stack trace (6 frames):
astropulse-5.03.x86_64-pc-linux-gnu(boinc_catch_signal+0x43)[0x4325d3]
/lib/libpthread.so.0[0x7f20d9af4080]
astropulse-5.03.x86_64-pc-linux-gnu[0x408666]
astropulse-5.03.x86_64-pc-linux-gnu[0x406536]
/lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe6)[0x7f20d97915a6]
astropulse-5.03.x86_64-pc-linux-gnu(__gxx_personality_v0+0x199)[0x405ca9]

Exiting...

</stderr_txt>
]]>

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #6 on: 23 Apr 2009, 05:21:11 pm »
Thanks michael37. This one from your hosts resultlist is also interesting :

<core_client_version>6.2.18</core_client_version>
<![CDATA[
<message>
process exited with code 251 (0xfb, -5)
</message>
<stderr_txt>
In ap_gfx_main.cpp: in ap_graphics_init(): Starting client.
In ap_client_main.cpp: in mainloop(): at dm_chunk_large 896
In ap_gfx_main.cpp: in ap_graphics_init(): Starting client.
Error reading from statefile: wanted 13240 bytes, got 7736

</stderr_txt>
]]>

Did you change something around the 15th/16th april on your os, some updates possibly, because it looks like around that date the kind of error has changed from the above to the one you posted before. And furthermore there is a lonely completed and validated result reported today. How often does that happen ?
The kernel version 2.6.28-11-generic seems to be new and was not available when this AstroPulse app was initially tested. Maybe we have to rerun some tests with this new kernel version. Will start to look deeper into this issue to find out what is wrong, now.
_\|/_
U r s

Offline michael37

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #7 on: 23 Apr 2009, 05:25:36 pm »
Thanks michael37. This one from your hosts resultlist is also interesting :

<core_client_version>6.2.18</core_client_version>
<![CDATA[
<message>
process exited with code 251 (0xfb, -5)
</message>
<stderr_txt>
In ap_gfx_main.cpp: in ap_graphics_init(): Starting client.
In ap_client_main.cpp: in mainloop(): at dm_chunk_large 896
In ap_gfx_main.cpp: in ap_graphics_init(): Starting client.
Error reading from statefile: wanted 13240 bytes, got 7736

</stderr_txt>
]]>

Did you change something around the 15th/16th april on your os, some updates possibly, because it looks like around that date the kind of error has changed from the above to the one you posted before. And furthermore there is a lonely completed and validated result reported today. How often does that happen ?
Ignore this error totally, that was a bug with suspend/hibernate of the laptop.

The errors that concern me are the segmentation faults.

The kernel version 2.6.28-11-generic seems to be new and was not available when this AstroPulse app was initially tested. Maybe we have to rerun some tests with this new kernel version. Will start to look deeper into this issue to find out what is wrong, now.
It is what it is, the recently released (ahem, as of today, April 23rd), version of Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope.  Comes with new kernel, libraries, everything.  Will be glad to help as always.

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #8 on: 23 Apr 2009, 06:11:05 pm »
After rereading some pages of our testing forum for the current AP app i found that this same error was reported before. That person used a very old kernel version which was not fully capable/compatible with the newer features (< 2.6.22). So this could be some kind of compatibility issue. Will download the current (K)Ubuntu version over night and try out how it reacts on one of my T7200 hosts.
_\|/_
U r s

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #9 on: 23 Apr 2009, 06:29:13 pm »
Michael as a first step, can you update your boinc to 6.6.20?

I don't think it's strictly a kernel problem, more likely a combined kernel-library (libc?) problem.

A few questions:
Were all these wus done with the same kernel? What version?
The same questions for libc6.
Were these from the prerelease ubuntu? If they were, try with the official release.
Do you have activated any power saving options (speedstep, etc.)?

EDIT: That report that Urs is referring to had also an old boinc (6.2.15, yours is 6.2.18) so again please try 6.6.20.
« Last Edit: 23 Apr 2009, 07:01:55 pm by sunu »

Offline Urs Echternacht

  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • ++
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #10 on: 24 Apr 2009, 06:14:02 pm »
Finished testing on kubuntu 9.04 amd64 (2.6.28-11). I was able to reproduce the error michael37 did report he was seeing when using the astropulse 5.03 x64 sse3 optimized application version with Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope (kernel 2.6.28-11). Details of my testruns are available in the closed section.

So, if you want to use an optimized application version with kernel 2.6.28+ please use opt. astropulse 5.03 x64 sse2 application version, because astropulse x64 sse3 is not working reliable with this linux kernel.
_\|/_
U r s

Offline michael37

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #11 on: 26 Apr 2009, 02:54:06 pm »
Finished testing on kubuntu 9.04 amd64 (2.6.28-11). I was able to reproduce the error michael37 did report he was seeing when using the astropulse 5.03 x64 sse3 optimized application version with Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope (kernel 2.6.28-11). Details of my testruns are available in the closed section.

So, if you want to use an optimized application version with kernel 2.6.28+ please use opt. astropulse 5.03 x64 sse2 application version, because astropulse x64 sse3 is not working reliable with this linux kernel.

Thanks, the SSE2 app has been working for me so far.

Would be great if someone could create a Download link for it.

Gecko_R7

  • Guest
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #12 on: 26 Apr 2009, 04:51:27 pm »
Would be great if someone could create a Download link for it.

I'll take care of this.

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #13 on: 27 Apr 2009, 05:47:37 pm »
Michael do you use any boot-up options on your T5300, like acpi=off etc?

There is no general "incompatibility" of sse3 64bit and 2.6.28 kernels.

Offline michael37

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: 64-bit SSE2 app?
« Reply #14 on: 27 Apr 2009, 06:12:43 pm »
Michael do you use any boot-up options on your T5300, like acpi=off etc?

There is no general "incompatibility" of sse3 64bit and 2.6.28 kernels.
Nope.  Acpi is working perfectly.

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59551
Total Topics: 1671
Most Online Today: 113
Most Online Ever: 402
(15 Nov 2018, 02:33:34 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 76
Total: 76
Powered by EzPortal