+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: Computation Error With Optimized Apps  (Read 34081 times)

Quasar8000

  • Guest
Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« on: 15 Mar 2009, 02:39:06 pm »
Hey everyone, I've been using BOINC to crunch for SETI for quite a long time. I found this site a couple of days ago and absolutely loved the idea (I didn't love the credits and computation time I wasted though ;)) I currently have 3 PCs running BOINC. one has Windows 7 x64 which I'm assuming there's no optimized app for yet, and the other two have 32-bit Linux. I downloaded optimized apps for these two systems. One of the systems is working without problems (so far), but the other keeps giving me a computation error a couple of seconds after I start every SETI task. The PC has an Athlon 64 3000+ with SSE2 capabilities. I downloaded the latest 32-bit SSE2 apps (r112) and followed the instructions that were attached with the files. I'm only using BOINC so I guess I'm only crunching Astropulse WUs, and I tried 3 of them, all of which gave me the same error 6-7 seconds after starting the task. Any ideas on what could be causing this?

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #1 on: 15 Mar 2009, 02:51:09 pm »
Can you give us a link to your systems?

Quasar8000

  • Guest
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #2 on: 15 Mar 2009, 03:01:10 pm »
This is the PC that's been giving me the computation errors:

http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/show_host_detail.php?hostid=4681290

And this is the one that's working OK:

http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/show_host_detail.php?hostid=4642793

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #3 on: 15 Mar 2009, 03:09:01 pm »
What SSE level your CPU supports?

Quasar8000

  • Guest
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #4 on: 15 Mar 2009, 03:14:42 pm »
SSE2. I double checked it using "cat /proc/cpuinfo" and CPU-Z (I have Windows XP installed on the PC too but I don't usually use it).

Sorry I forgot to add that I'm using BOINC 6.4.5 in case it makes any difference.
« Last Edit: 15 Mar 2009, 03:17:29 pm by Quasar8000 »

Offline Crunch3r

  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
    • 64 bit boinc clients
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #5 on: 15 Mar 2009, 04:27:51 pm »
SSE2. I double checked it using "cat /proc/cpuinfo" and CPU-Z (I have Windows XP installed on the PC too but I don't usually use it).

Sorry I forgot to add that I'm using BOINC 6.4.5 in case it makes any difference.

Are you sure that you've downloaded the proper package ?
Try this one --> http://calbe.dw70.de/astrop/V5/ap500_503_linux_x32_sse2.tar.bz2
I want to share something with you: The three little sentences that will get you through life. Number 1: Cover for me. Number 2: Oh, good idea, Boss! Number 3: It was like that when I got here.

Homer Simpson

Offline arkayn

  • Janitor o' the Board
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
  • Aaaarrrrgggghhhh
    • My Little Place On The Internet
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #6 on: 15 Mar 2009, 08:22:07 pm »
Hey everyone, I've been using BOINC to crunch for SETI for quite a long time. I found this site a couple of days ago and absolutely loved the idea (I didn't love the credits and computation time I wasted though ;)) I currently have 3 PCs running BOINC. one has Windows 7 x64 which I'm assuming there's no optimized app for yet,

Actually you can use the optimized apps for Windows with no problem at all. You might be able to run one of Raistmer's packages on it, I will let someone else talk about that though.

For the Mac, I would suggest this package for a little pick me up.

Quasar8000

  • Guest
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #7 on: 16 Mar 2009, 03:57:34 am »
SSE2. I double checked it using "cat /proc/cpuinfo" and CPU-Z (I have Windows XP installed on the PC too but I don't usually use it).

Sorry I forgot to add that I'm using BOINC 6.4.5 in case it makes any difference.

Are you sure that you've downloaded the proper package ?
Try this one --> http://calbe.dw70.de/astrop/V5/ap500_503_linux_x32_sse2.tar.bz2


That's strange, the package I downloaded (http://lunatics.kwsn.net/index.php?module=Downloads;sa=dlview;id=179) was the same version you gave me a link to, but I think their sizes are not the same. In any case, using the new package I'm now at 3 minutes in my task calculation with no errors ;D Thanx a lot for the help. I'll report back on how the tasks go.

Hey everyone, I've been using BOINC to crunch for SETI for quite a long time. I found this site a couple of days ago and absolutely loved the idea (I didn't love the credits and computation time I wasted though ;)) I currently have 3 PCs running BOINC. one has Windows 7 x64 which I'm assuming there's no optimized app for yet,

Actually you can use the optimized apps for Windows with no problem at all. You might be able to run one of Raistmer's packages on it, I will let someone else talk about that though.

For the Mac, I would suggest this package for a little pick me up.

I'd love to know if there's an optimized package that I can use for Astropulse on 64-bit Windows. I looked in the Downloads section but couldn't find anything. And I'll definitely use the package you recommended for the Mac. Thank you for the tips ;D

Offline Crunch3r

  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
    • 64 bit boinc clients
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #8 on: 16 Mar 2009, 04:09:27 am »

That's strange, the package I downloaded (http://lunatics.kwsn.net/index.php?module=Downloads;sa=dlview;id=179) was the same version you gave me a link to, but I think their sizes are not the same. In any case, using the new package I'm now at 3 minutes in my task calculation with no errors ;D Thanx a lot for the help. I'll report back on how the tasks go.


Since you're already past 3 min, it should work.  ;)
I want to share something with you: The three little sentences that will get you through life. Number 1: Cover for me. Number 2: Oh, good idea, Boss! Number 3: It was like that when I got here.

Homer Simpson

Quasar8000

  • Guest
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #9 on: 16 Mar 2009, 05:03:41 am »
I got two WUs and they're already finished!!! Each of them showed an expected CPU time of about 290 hours but one finished in a little over 3 minutes and the other in a little over 6 minutes. It seems both finished without errors but I wanted to check if this is normal. Here are the WUs:

http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/result.php?resultid=1185956268
http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/result.php?resultid=1186361087

Offline arkayn

  • Janitor o' the Board
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
  • Aaaarrrrgggghhhh
    • My Little Place On The Internet
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #10 on: 16 Mar 2009, 12:20:06 pm »
The key is this line.
Quote
Found 30 single pulses and 30 repeating pulses, exiting.

As long as the wingmate finds the same thing, it should all be good.

Lysia

  • Guest
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #11 on: 18 Mar 2009, 07:24:07 pm »
I got two WUs and they're already finished!!! Each of them showed an expected CPU time of about 290 hours but one finished in a little over 3 minutes and the other in a little over 6 minutes.

I'm using the SSE3-App and need about 25-30 hours for one WU. I still wonder if the calculations are correct, as performance gain of the optimized app is about 4 times (roughly estimated), compared with the default app.

All your WUs seem to have the same result, there is definitely something wrong.

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #12 on: 18 Mar 2009, 09:38:44 pm »
I'm using the SSE3-App and need about 25-30 hours for one WU. I still wonder if the calculations are correct, as performance gain of the optimized app is about 4 times (roughly estimated), compared with the default app.

That's why they are called "optimized" apps. That are waaayyy faster than stock apps. Don't worry, science done is the same.

All your WUs seem to have the same result, there is definitely something wrong.

Definitely there is something wrong with his computer.

@Quasar8000: Is your PC overclocked? RAM checked ok?
« Last Edit: 18 Mar 2009, 09:43:16 pm by sunu »

Lysia

  • Guest
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #13 on: 27 Mar 2009, 08:01:37 am »
I have recently had a AP-WU marked as invalid (http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/workunit.php?wuid=417591258). I used the SSE2-app on my notebook (http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/show_host_detail.php?hostid=4851459). This WU took 46 hours to compute while a second WU (http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/workunit.php?wuid=417591604) is at 60:48:00 with 73.25% done =>83 hours total. A third WU running at the moment seems to be taking about 45 hours again. Will see what the results of these two are, but there might be a slight problem with the SSE2-AP.

I still have to do a memtest though, but the last time about two months ago everything was correct.

EDIT: The third WU (http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/workunit.php?wuid=417924453) finished after 16 hours with "30 single pulses and 30 repeating pulses". There is definitely something wrong.
« Last Edit: 27 Mar 2009, 09:54:35 am by Lysius »

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Computation Error With Optimized Apps
« Reply #14 on: 27 Mar 2009, 09:56:22 am »
That could be a random thing. Watch this machine for a few more WUs and report back.

Edit:
EDIT: The third WU (http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/workunit.php?wuid=417924453) finished after 16 hours with "30 single pulses and 30 repeating pulses". There is definitely something wrong.

No, right now, it doesn't mean anything. We have to wait for another wingman to return his result to see if your result is good or no. Nevertheless if you want to test the stability of your machine run prime95 ( http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft ) for at least 8h (some like to run at least 24h).

Edit2: T2300 should support sse3. You can gain a slight increase in computation speed switching from sse2 to sse3 app.
« Last Edit: 27 Mar 2009, 01:54:07 pm by sunu »

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59559
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 31
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 23
Total: 23
Powered by EzPortal