+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Mike
23 Apr 2021, 08:55:37 am

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: SETI MB CUDA for Linux  (Read 349707 times)

Offline Richard Haselgrove

  • Messenger Pigeon
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 2819
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #675 on: 10 Jun 2010, 09:01:45 am »
I'm pretty sure version numbers don't come into it. As to BOINC's intelligence - I think that particular case comes into the "you break it, you own both parts" category - after all, it was you that made the change :(

Going back to the error message: you're on Linux 64, with no platform tags at all. I'm dealing with a user at SETI, who has Windows 64 and an app_info with <platform>windows_intelx86 and <platform>windows_x86_64 scattered all over it like confetti.

I think I'll take this into the development area for a chat with Jason. May be some time.

Offline riofl

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #676 on: 10 Jun 2010, 09:27:34 am »
ok thanks.... if i see it messing up then ill back up the workunits first then change the version back since that has always worked before and will wait to see if you uncover anything.


Offline riofl

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #677 on: 11 Jun 2010, 05:04:10 am »
6.09 definitely did not work. it got work units but got nothing for gpu. i set it back to 6.08 and it got units for gpu.

Offline Richard Haselgrove

  • Messenger Pigeon
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 2819
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #678 on: 11 Jun 2010, 05:43:10 am »
Jason has now observed (and I agree with him) that the error is with the error message itself. The last line ("(reached daily quota of 100 tasks)") is the important, meningful one: everything above it, like the rubbish about app_info, is just - well, rubbish.

Offline riofl

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #679 on: 11 Jun 2010, 06:25:56 am »
cool. thanks! breathing easier...  the daily quota thing is weird as i typically have received as many as 300 or 400 tasks in one day. but.. if it is something they are implementing, no problem.

Offline riofl

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #680 on: 17 Jun 2010, 06:03:49 am »
Thu 17 Jun 2010 05:57:30 AM EDT   SETI@home Beta Test   You used the wrong URL for this project
Thu 17 Jun 2010 05:57:30 AM EDT   SETI@home Beta Test   The correct URL is http://setiweb.ssl.berkeley.edu/beta/

beta??
this just started showing up.. are they wanting us to switch or is this another error? i did nothing to encourage this, it just changed by itself.


edit: 1 hr later its back to normal. i think i am going to stop paying attention to any messages this thing gives me for a while. as long as it keeps processing i will leave it alone.

« Last Edit: 17 Jun 2010, 07:10:19 am by riofl »

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #681 on: 17 Jun 2010, 11:36:23 am »
For the past 1-2 weeks, seti is in a state of ... well ... ::)

Offline riofl

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #682 on: 17 Jun 2010, 04:45:57 pm »
yeah. ive basically given up caring. when it gets back to normal then fine.... like now its not giving me work saying ive reached my daily quota of 207 tasks... must be something they set up to give everyone an equal chance with what they can produce... i mean.. im sitting here with 9 vlar cpu tasks and nothing else and its telling me no work... im just not worrying about it any more.


Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #683 on: 17 Jun 2010, 04:54:53 pm »
You're like lucky with 207 tasks. Mine hovers around 100 when I need over 400 a day.

Offline riofl

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #684 on: 17 Jun 2010, 07:42:05 pm »
not sure what happened... it was 100 and i had tasks set for 5 days so i increased them to 10 days and got more work and now its up to 207..

just looked and i got some! wow.. jumped from 3 cpu jobs to 26 with still no gpu jobs and that stupid msg about my app_info.xml which is nonsense...
 
hehe i have to admit they get some interesting responses out of their systems when they 'upgrade'.

yet another reason why i believe firmly if it aint broke dont fix it :P

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #685 on: 18 Jun 2010, 03:23:35 am »

yet another reason why i believe firmly if it aint broke dont fix it :P
It was broken actually, but instead of fixing only broken part DA brought whole package of changes to SETI main, most of them were not needed...

Offline riofl

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #686 on: 18 Jun 2010, 08:22:25 am »
ahh yes.. modify, improve the modifications, then modify the modifications until it is an entirely different product, then scrap all the changes and go back to the original code and fix the one thing that caused all the changes..  :D


Offline riofl

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #687 on: 18 Jun 2010, 11:19:33 am »
LOL its more broke now than ever... hehe  i kept track and since midnight i have received all of 47 tasks total.. seti believes differently :D

Fri 18 Jun 2010 11:16:26 AM EDT   SETI@home   Message from server: (reached daily quota of 247 tasks)

Offline riofl

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #688 on: 12 Jul 2010, 10:04:47 pm »
are the fermi cards proving out any better than when they first came out? or are they still not worth the price of their cooling fan?

i heard they need special software to make them work 'properly' which would possibly cause issues with me since i will be mixing gf100 and gt200b technologies.. maybe i should look around for leftover gtx2 series cards. ihave to get one before i can send my xfx back for repair. the 2nd port is messed up.

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: SETI MB CUDA for Linux
« Reply #689 on: 13 Jul 2010, 05:42:06 am »
Unfortunately fermi cards can't be used for seti in linux. No client available.

Yesterday I read the reviews of 460 GTX. Pretty interesting product. If the supposed dual fermi card will be based on this, this will be the new card to get for seti. Unfortunately nobody knows when/if a dual fermi card will be released.
« Last Edit: 13 Jul 2010, 04:31:57 pm by sunu »

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59558
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 13
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 4
Total: 4
Powered by EzPortal