+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Mike
23 Apr 2021, 08:55:37 am

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: Linux port of Alex Kan's?  (Read 25837 times)

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #30 on: 05 Jun 2008, 03:30:03 am »
Yes, T2330 was Lenovo notebook.
Under Windows power saving was set to "hi prformance" option and checked by CPU-Z that there is no CPU multiplier switching. And this action didn't change run time against  "balance" opton. At "balance" option there was CPU multiplier switch in idle state (x8 <-> x6 as I recall correctly),  but again, no changes in WU run times (probably CPU don't want change his multiplier under heavy load).
So I supposed the same behavior for Linux and took no additional actions after booting Ubuntu from live CD.  If anyone can point how to disable all power saving features under this linux version I would repeat that tests :)
And about AMD - It's usual host and no power saving active at all. Results was obtained with dedicated test WUs under KWSN bench Windows/Linux version. BTW, Windows version had even more load cause this host acts as router and terminal server under Windows and no activity at all under linux (even no network).

I propose to post bench results in separate thread here to collect rintime base for different OS/CPU/Memory/App combinations. There was such database on http://www.marisan.nl/seti/ but now this url leads here.
It would be very useful to have such database IMHO.

UncleVom

  • Guest
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #31 on: 05 Jun 2008, 12:45:14 pm »
Since no Ubuntu users have come to the rescue.

I'm not a Ubuntu or even a Gnome user, but I've loaded the live CD on my desktop (sorry no suitable laptop)  and switched it to crunching my workunits for a comparison.
I'm kind of up to my ears in work right now, but I'll try to figure out whats going on, I have confirmed that the laptop-detect and laptop-mode-tools packages are loaded by the default live CD.

UncleVom
 



 

UncleVom

  • Guest
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #32 on: 05 Jun 2008, 02:35:11 pm »
The Ubuntu live CD seems to crunch at a similar rate to my Debian sid installation any difference seems to be lost in the noise of workunit variability.

I did turn up this posting from Toby in March on the Number Crunchers Forum on Seti@home in a Windows vs. Linux thread.

"I see the same behavior on my laptop running Ubuntu. Idle processes do not cause the kernel to initiate CPU power level change. You can change this behavior with the cpufreq-selector command. To make the CPU run at full speed all the time, just type this command into a terminal:
sudo cpufreq-selector -g performance

This causes the kernel to use the "performance" governor to determine when speedstep/powernow features are enabled. The other governors that are available are powersave, conservative, ondemand and userspace. I believe the default one is "ondemand" which, as the name suggests, keeps the CPU at low speed unless more power is needed. You can also lock the CPU in at a specific frequency with this command:
sudo cpufreq-selector -f 1670000

The 1670000 means 1.67 GHz (my CPU can run at 1, 1.67 or 2 GHz).

I'm sure there is some GNOME/KDE interface to this feature that doesn't require breaking out a terminal but thats the quick and dirty way :)

You can view the speed your CPU is currently running at with this command:
cat /proc/cpuinfo

and looking for the line that starts with "cpu MHz." There is also a GNOME panel widget (or whatever they're called) under the "System & Hardware" section entitled "CPU Frequency Scaling Monitor" that will graphically tell you at what speed your CPU is running."

HTH

UncleVom

Offline zvonas

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • XJR-X350
    • Real estate in Czech Republic
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #33 on: 05 Jun 2008, 04:10:36 pm »
Thank you very much for this release. I've been waiting for that impatiently 8) I'm running that on 32 bit Fedora (32bit SSE3&SSSE3), everything seems working perfectly ;)
„Nikdy se nebojme vzdát se dobrého pro lepší.“

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #34 on: 05 Jun 2008, 07:24:17 pm »
@UncleVom
Thanks for info! Will try to retest with new power settings :)

Avatar1966

  • Guest
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #35 on: 27 Dec 2008, 12:20:24 am »
Hi,
Is the MB version for SSE will be out soon?

Thanks for all the other version.

Offline PatrickV2

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #36 on: 02 Mar 2009, 02:22:51 pm »
Hi there,

This seems to be a thread which is a bit old, but it seems appropriate for my question:

For sentimental value, I'm running Linux (Debian unstable) on a P3-700MHz box at home. Spare cycles are used to process SetiBOINC.

I have the SSE-optimized Astropulse clients installed, but when heading over to Crunch3rs page (link is on page 2 of this topic) I only see AK8 clients for SSE2 and up. Are there any plans to release an SSE-enabled version of the AK8 client?

Failing that, how can I let the P3-700 machine use the regular Seti@Home client, since the app_info.xml only lists the custom astropulse clients. What do I have to put in an app_info.xml file to use the regular, non-optimized Seti@Home clients?

Thanks in advance,

Patrick.

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #37 on: 02 Mar 2009, 02:50:54 pm »
You can use the 2.4L versions from Crunch3r's page. They offer pretty good speed increase over stock.
« Last Edit: 02 Mar 2009, 02:56:53 pm by sunu »

Offline PatrickV2

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #38 on: 02 Mar 2009, 03:13:09 pm »
You can use the 2.4L versions from Crunch3r's page. They offer pretty good speed increase over stock.

Hmm, okay. I can use these together with current app_info.xml files which specify 528/603 versions of the wus?

Or will I also get plenty work when using/merging the original app_info.xml (which specifies 521)?

Regards, Patrick.

Offline arkayn

  • Janitor o' the Board
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 1230
  • Aaaarrrrgggghhhh
    • My Little Place On The Internet
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #39 on: 02 Mar 2009, 03:25:01 pm »
You can use the 2.4L versions from Crunch3r's page. They offer pretty good speed increase over stock.

Hmm, okay. I can use these together with current app_info.xml files which specify 528/603 versions of the wus?

Or will I also get plenty work when using/merging the original app_info.xml (which specifies 521)?

Regards, Patrick.

Try replacing the text with this one.

Code: [Select]
<app_info>
<app>
<name>setiathome_enhanced</name>
</app>
<file_info>
<name>setiathome-5.15.i686-pc-linux-gnu</name>
<executable/>
</file_info>
<app_version>
<app_name>setiathome_enhanced</app_name>
<version_num>528</version_num>
<file_ref>
<file_name>setiathome-5.15.i686-pc-linux-gnu</file_name>
<main_program/>
</file_ref>
</app_version>
<app_version>
<app_name>setiathome_enhanced</app_name>
<version_num>603</version_num>
<file_ref>
<file_name>setiathome-5.15.i686-pc-linux-gnu</file_name>
<main_program/>
</file_ref>
</app_version>
<app_info>

Offline PatrickV2

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #40 on: 02 Mar 2009, 03:34:49 pm »
OK, I can handle that.  ::)

One final question though: I see there are 2 variants of the SSE 2.4L binary on Crunch3rs site:

 - One using FFTW
 - Another not using FFTW

Which one should I pick for a P3-700?

Regards, Patrick.

Offline sunu

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #41 on: 02 Mar 2009, 05:12:44 pm »
I can't help you in this. This post ( http://lunatics.kwsn.net/linux/new-2-4l-version-for-linux-x86.msg6403.html#msg6403 ) says that the FFTW one is slower. I guess you'll have to test it yourself.
« Last Edit: 02 Mar 2009, 05:49:28 pm by sunu »

Offline Josef W. Segur

  • Janitor o' the Board
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 3112
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #42 on: 02 Mar 2009, 07:28:09 pm »
OK, I can handle that.  ::)

One final question though: I see there are 2 variants of the SSE 2.4L binary on Crunch3rs site:

 - One using FFTW
 - Another not using FFTW

Which one should I pick for a P3-700?

Regards, Patrick.

If you're going to use a 2.4L version, be sure to merge its app_info rather than the app_info for stock which arkayn posted. As to which 2.4L, the FFTW version may perform slightly better on hosts with small L2 cache but for an Intel CPU I'd suggest the other one unless you want to try each for a week or so and judge for yourself.
                                                                         Joe

Offline PatrickV2

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #43 on: 03 Mar 2009, 12:58:44 pm »
OK, I can handle that.  ::)

One final question though: I see there are 2 variants of the SSE 2.4L binary on Crunch3rs site:

 - One using FFTW
 - Another not using FFTW

Which one should I pick for a P3-700?

Regards, Patrick.

If you're going to use a 2.4L version, be sure to merge its app_info rather than the app_info for stock which arkayn posted. As to which 2.4L, the FFTW version may perform slightly better on hosts with small L2 cache but for an Intel CPU I'd suggest the other one unless you want to try each for a week or so and judge for yourself.
                                                                         Joe

Yes, I did merge the app-infos, and this day, two regular Seti WUs were downloaded where the host previously only downloaded ap wus.

My app_info.xml is:

<app_info>

    <app>
        <name>setiathome_enhanced</name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
        <name>setiathome-5.15.i686-pc-linux-gnu</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_enhanced</app_name>
        <version_num>528</version_num>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>setiathome-5.15.i686-pc-linux-gnu</file_name>
            <main_program/>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>

    <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_enhanced</app_name>
        <version_num>603</version_num>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>setiathome-5.15.i686-pc-linux-gnu</file_name>
            <main_program/>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>
    <app>
        <name>astropulse</name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
        <name>astropulse-5.0.i686-pc-linux-gnu</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>astropulse</app_name>
        <version_num>500</version_num>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>astropulse-5.0.i686-pc-linux-gnu</file_name>
            <main_program/>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>
    <app>
        <name>astropulse_v5</name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
        <name>astropulse-5.03.i686-pc-linux-gnu</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>astropulse_v5</app_name>
        <version_num>503</version_num>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>astropulse-5.03.i686-pc-linux-gnu</file_name>
            <main_program/>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>
</app_info>

(I hope this comes out ok...)

Regards, Patrick.

Lysia

  • Guest
Re: Linux port of Alex Kan's?
« Reply #44 on: 18 Mar 2009, 07:41:28 pm »
Are there any disadvantages in using AK v8 or 2.4L compared to the default 6.03? Are they able to use all work units that 6.03 can use and do they perform the same analysis? Or does 6.03 have a newer, better analysis and with using an older piece of software I might miss signals?
So what made the version numbers rise from 5.x to 6.x?

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59558
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 15
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 11
Total: 11
Powered by EzPortal