+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: For the programmers:  (Read 11824 times)

Offline KarVi

• Alpha Tester
  • Knight Templar
For the programmers:
« on: 20 Jan 2007, 06:17:05 pm »
Since I'm not a programmer, this is totally incomprehensive for me but this link:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/white_papers_and_tech_docs/25112.PDF

is AMD's official optimization guide for the Athlon64 family.

If you don't allready use it, perhaps some gains could be found for the many AMD users?

I have no idea if its easy or not to implement the things written in this document, but it would be interresting to see what an application that was specifically optimized for the Athlon64 architecture could gain in performance.
A smile is the shortest distance between two peoble (Victor Borge).

BenHer

Re: For the programmers:
« Reply #1 on: 21 Jan 2007, 01:35:08 pm »
Our current release (2.0b or c) currently screams on Athlon systems, and also on earlier Intel systems.

It doesn't do anywhere near as well on Core or Core2 chips.  Since none of us programmers has one, we really have conceptual issues making the code faster on them.  All of our routines that work really fast on the other chips I mentioned don't seem to speed up the crunching on the Core chips...and so far we have no brilliant insights as to why.

Let me explain why having one is necessary to the process.
To develop an optimized section of a program,
1. the programmer conceives of a method that *might* make it faster. 
2. He/she then writes a seprate version of the source code with these hopeful improvements.
2.a. Re-coding