+- +-
Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

MB/AP Bench Test Instruction by William
17 Jun 2016, 04:13:45 am

Author Topic: New Video Card  (Read 3277 times)

Offline TouchuvGrey

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
New Video Card
« on: 31 Aug 2014, 05:04:56 pm »
it looks like my trusty GTX460 has passed away. i will be getting
a new card to sit beside my GTX560ti.

   i am considering a GTX760 but looking at the multibeam v7 application
i see that the cuda 50 is suggested for 6xxx and up Kepler cards and the
cuda 42 is for 4xxx and 5xxx Fermi cards.

   it seems to me that if i get a 760 it would be best to use the cuda 50
and get the most out of the more capable card.

     Am i right here ? and does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions ?
Because we are NOT alone.

Offline Claggy

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3111
    • My computers at Seti Beta
Re: New Video Card
« Reply #1 on: 31 Aug 2014, 06:47:37 pm »
My trusty GTX460 passed away too (months ago through), Got myself a Gainward GTX760 Phantom, arrived today, and i've only fitted it in the last hour,
used the Lunatics 0.42 Installer selecting Cuda5, and got all my ATI Wu's resent as Nvidia Wu's,
over the next few days i'll do some Cuda Benches, my feeling is Cuda5 will be fastest.

Claggy

Offline juan BFB

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight o' The Realm
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
Re: New Video Card
« Reply #2 on: 31 Aug 2014, 07:31:56 pm »
To run 2 diferent families of GPU on the same host the best you could do is running 2 intances of Boinc on the host.  By doing this you could select run one GPU on each instance and choose the best configuration for each GPU. That includes the cuda version, number of simultaneus WU, best command line option, etc.

Offline TouchuvGrey

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
Re: New Video Card
« Reply #3 on: 01 Sep 2014, 09:53:19 am »
Thank you Juan, i had not even
considered that option.   :-[
Because we are NOT alone.

Offline juan BFB

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight o' The Realm
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
Re: New Video Card
« Reply #4 on: 01 Sep 2014, 11:38:47 am »
I use that to exactly to make a 580 (Fermi) work with a 670 (Keppler) on the same host since each one uses a diferent CUDA version. Works perfect.

If you run AP and the newer builds you have another good reason to do that since they use a diferent command line to optimize each GPU .

BTW The secondary "good" efect is your cache size limit will automaticaly rise from 200 for both GPU“s when you run 1 instance to 400 if you run 2 instances and you could control each cache size separately.

« Last Edit: 01 Sep 2014, 11:40:51 am by juan BFB »

Offline TouchuvGrey

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
Re: New Video Card
« Reply #5 on: 01 Sep 2014, 11:46:49 am »
Thank you again Juan, i will likely have
more questions when i am setting everything up.    :)
Because we are NOT alone.

Offline juan BFB

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight o' The Realm
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
Re: New Video Card
« Reply #6 on: 01 Sep 2014, 12:39:44 pm »
Before you try anything may i sugest you to read this article from Vyper“s site, it“s helps a lot:

http://vyper.kafit.se/wp/index.php/2011/02/04/running-different-nvidia-architectures-most-optimal-at-setihome/

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59551
Total Topics: 1671
Most Online Today: 29
Most Online Ever: 402
(15 Nov 2018, 02:33:34 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 19
Total: 19
Powered by EzPortal