+- +-
Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

MB/AP Bench Test Instruction by William
17 Jun 2016, 04:13:45 am

Author Topic: SAH V7 app_info Questions  (Read 5928 times)

Offline Terror Australis

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 31
SAH V7 app_info Questions
« on: 01 Jun 2013, 02:05:44 am »
Hi All
I'm posting here because the entire SAH site is locked up due to the current upgrade in progress and I can't get through to them.

I'm trying to cobble an app_info file together for the new SAH V7 and have the following questions.

1) What do I put in the <app_name> line to avoid junking the V7 CPU units I've already downloaded ? Is <name>setiathome_enhanced</name> still current, or does it have to be changed to something else ?

2) What is the correct entry for the <version_num>xxx</version_num> line ? Is "700"
right for both CPU and GPU entries ?

3) Is there anything else I should watch out for ?

Currently running BOINC V6.10.58, CUDA V4.2, Nvidia V310.7 on XP-Pro, QX9650 +3 x GTX580's

T.A.












Offline Mike

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 2425
Re: SAH V7 app_info Questions
« Reply #1 on: 01 Jun 2013, 02:12:30 am »

<name>setiathome_v7</name>

<version_num>700</version_num> for CPU and cuda.

ATI would be 703 for example.

Mike

Offline Dirk

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • BETA TESTER
    • SETI@home Account
Re: SAH V7 app_info Questions
« Reply #2 on: 01 Jun 2013, 02:21:59 am »
1.) setiathome_v7

2.) 700, yes - for Windows CPU and GPU CUDA.
Linux and OpenCL apps have other numbers.

3.) make a correct app_info.xml file ;)

Or take just this ;D :

<app_info>
    <app>
        <name>setiathome_enhanced</name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
        <name>AK_v8b2_win_x64_SSE3.exe</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_enhanced</app_name>
        <version_num>603</version_num>
   <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
        <file_ref>
           <file_name>AK_v8b2_win_x64_SSE3.exe</file_name>
            <main_program/>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_enhanced</app_name>
        <version_num>603</version_num>
   <platform>windows_x86_64</platform>
        <file_ref>
           <file_name>AK_v8b2_win_x64_SSE3.exe</file_name>
            <main_program/>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>
    <app>
        <name>setiathome_enhanced</name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
        <name>Lunatics_x41zc_win32_cuda42.exe</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <file_info>
        <name>cudart32_42_9.dll</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <file_info>
        <name>cufft32_42_9.dll</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <file_info>
        <name>mbcuda.cfg</name>
    </file_info>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_enhanced</app_name>
        <version_num>610</version_num>
   <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
        <plan_class>cuda_fermi</plan_class>
        <avg_ncpus>0.040000</avg_ncpus>
        <max_ncpus>0.040000</max_ncpus>
        <coproc>
            <type>CUDA</type>
            <count>.5</count>
        </coproc>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>Lunatics_x41zc_win32_cuda42.exe</file_name>
            <main_program/>
         </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
       <file_name>cudart32_42_9.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>cufft32_42_9.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>mbcuda.cfg</file_name>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_enhanced</app_name>
        <version_num>610</version_num>
   <platform>windows_x86_64</platform>
        <plan_class>cuda_fermi</plan_class>
        <avg_ncpus>0.040000</avg_ncpus>
        <max_ncpus>0.040000</max_ncpus>
        <coproc>
            <type>CUDA</type>
            <count>.5</count>
        </coproc>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>Lunatics_x41zc_win32_cuda42.exe</file_name>
            <main_program/>
         </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
       <file_name>cudart32_42_9.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>cufft32_42_9.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>mbcuda.cfg</file_name>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>
    <app>
        <name>setiathome_v7</name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
        <name>setiathome_7.00_windows_intelx86.exe</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <file_info>
        <name>libfftw3f-3-3_upx.dll</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
   <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_v7</app_name>
        <version_num>700</version_num>
         <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
          <file_ref>
            <file_name>setiathome_7.00_windows_intelx86.exe</file_name>
            <main_program/>
         </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
       <file_name>libfftw3f-3-3_upx.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
     </app_version>
     <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_v7</app_name>
        <version_num>700</version_num>
         <platform>windows_x86_64</platform>
          <file_ref>
            <file_name>setiathome_7.00_windows_intelx86.exe</file_name>
            <main_program/>
         </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
       <file_name>libfftw3f-3-3_upx.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
     </app_version>
    <app>
        <name>setiathome_v7</name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
        <name>Lunatics_x41zc_win32_cuda42.exe</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <file_info>
        <name>cudart32_42_9.dll</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <file_info>
        <name>cufft32_42_9.dll</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <file_info>
        <name>mbcuda.cfg</name>
    </file_info>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_v7</app_name>
        <version_num>700</version_num>
   <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
        <plan_class>cuda42</plan_class>
        <avg_ncpus>0.040000</avg_ncpus>
        <max_ncpus>0.040000</max_ncpus>
        <coproc>
            <type>CUDA</type>
            <count>.5</count>
        </coproc>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>Lunatics_x41zc_win32_cuda42.exe</file_name>
            <main_program/>
         </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
       <file_name>cudart32_42_9.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>cufft32_42_9.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>mbcuda.cfg</file_name>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>setiathome_v7</app_name>
        <version_num>700</version_num>
   <platform>windows_x86_64</platform>
        <plan_class>cuda42</plan_class>
        <avg_ncpus>0.040000</avg_ncpus>
        <max_ncpus>0.040000</max_ncpus>
        <coproc>
            <type>CUDA</type>
            <count>.5</count>
        </coproc>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>Lunatics_x41zc_win32_cuda42.exe</file_name>
            <main_program/>
         </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
       <file_name>cudart32_42_9.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>cufft32_42_9.dll</file_name>
        </file_ref>
        <file_ref>
            <file_name>mbcuda.cfg</file_name>
        </file_ref>
    </app_version>
</app_info>



I guess this will trash the 'setigraphics_7.00_windows_intelx86.exe'.
But, who want look to the SAH Screensaver and want reduce crunching speed?  ;)
« Last Edit: 01 Jun 2013, 02:33:05 am by [seti.international] Philip J. Fry »
BR :)


Offline Terror Australis

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: SAH V7 app_info Questions
« Reply #3 on: 01 Jun 2013, 04:42:06 am »
Thanks Phil
That worked. All I had to do was change the x64 entries back to x86 and change it to the SSSE3 version of AK_v8b2
You also solved 2 problems for me, with the one I was debugging, (the CPU app was erroring out with no output file) and answered my wonderings if the "graphics" file was the GPU app or the screensaver  :D

Your help is appreciated

BTW - On the CPU (I haven't been able to download any GPU units yet), V7 is taking ~3 hours to crunch as against ~2 hours for V6.03

T.A.

Offline Claggy

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 3111
    • My computers at Seti Beta
Re: SAH V7 app_info Questions
« Reply #4 on: 01 Jun 2013, 04:50:44 am »
BTW - On the CPU (I haven't been able to download any GPU units yet), V7 is taking ~3 hours to crunch as against ~2 hours for V6.03

T.A.
What CPU is that?

Edit: I see, a QX9650

How long would Stock 6.03 take?

Claggy
« Last Edit: 01 Jun 2013, 05:07:48 am by Claggy »

Offline Terror Australis

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: SAH V7 app_info Questions
« Reply #5 on: 01 Jun 2013, 05:52:19 am »
BTW - On the CPU (I haven't been able to download any GPU units yet), V7 is taking ~3 hours to crunch as against ~2 hours for V6.03

T.A.
What CPU is that?

Edit: I see, a QX9650

How long would Stock 6.03 take?

Claggy
To be honest, I haven't a clue. I've only ever run optimised apps on this machine. But you could make an educated guess by taking the average improvement of AK_v8 over stock 6.03 and multiplying the 2 hours by that.

I've picked up some GPUunits since the earlier post. Running one per GPUthey are taking ~8 minutes to complete with the 41zc app. There have also been some apparent shorties that have taken from between 1:30 and 3:00 to complete.

However I still can't upload the results back to the server to get more details.

T.A.

EDIT: About a minute after I posted the uploads went through. Six units validated straight away. The two CPU units scored 87 and 95 respectively and the 4 GPU units all validated with a score of around 90 even though one of them only ran for 134 seconds and finished with a 30+ overflow. The other 3 ran to completion taking an average of 475 seconds.

This is the same time that it used to take to crunch an old unit running 2 tasks per GPU. It looks like V7 only "pays" about half what 6.03/6.10 units used to.
« Last Edit: 01 Jun 2013, 06:07:29 am by Terror Australis »

Offline Terror Australis

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: SAH V7 app_info Questions
« Reply #6 on: 01 Jun 2013, 06:19:51 am »
I've just compared some V7 results against the old SAH "enhanced" units. To earn the same number of credits, a V7 unit runs twice as long and does twice as many flops.

Is this "Credit New" striking again ?

T.A.

Offline Mike

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 2425
Re: SAH V7 app_info Questions
« Reply #7 on: 01 Jun 2013, 06:23:51 am »
We should wait a few weeks IMHO to give the servers a chance to settle.

Offline Pizzadude

  • Knight o' The Realm
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Re: SAH V7 app_info Questions
« Reply #8 on: 02 Jun 2013, 06:36:19 am »
We should wait a few weeks IMHO to give the servers a chance to settle.


Second that, folks are getting there panties in a knot and the dust has not settled yet.

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59553
Total Topics: 1671
Most Online Today: 31
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 14
Total: 14
Powered by EzPortal