+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: AP6 r1363 for GPU  (Read 15180 times)

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
AP6 r1363 for GPU
« on: 16 Jul 2012, 07:16:12 am »
New switch added:
-initial_ffa_sleep N M
where N - number of ms to sleep in short PC-FFA, M - number of ms to sleep in large FFA. This sleep will occur before polling for event loop in -use_sleep case (and this sleep independed from -use-sleep switch)

Recommended usage:

1) do test run with -v 2 -use_sleep options.
2) look into stderr.txt for usual sleeping times for short and large FFA (they will differ considerably)
3) Enter those usual values (or those -1ms) into this new switch parameters fialed.
4) additional run with this param "+" -v 2 -use_sleep can be done to check if sleep loop times now much smaller (1-2ms). Then -use_sleep can be omitted at all.

Take care, this switch requires exactly 2 params (2 integer numbers separated with space), not 1.

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #1 on: 19 Jul 2012, 02:57:43 am »
Bench for GTX 260 + Core2Duo 6420 (Conroe), CPU idle, OS Windows Server 2003 x64, driver 263.06 attached; dependence from unroll param. More will come later.

Offline Fredericx51

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
  • Knight Who Says Ni N!
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #2 on: 24 Jul 2012, 09:24:30 am »
Bench for GTX 260 + Core2Duo 6420 (Conroe), CPU idle, OS Windows Server 2003 x64, driver 263.06 attached; dependence from unroll param. More will come later.

Is this new switch for all (NVidia & AMD?ATI) devices/GPUs or NVidia only.

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #3 on: 24 Jul 2012, 12:08:46 pm »
It's for all GPU AP builds.
[But how helpful it would be for particular vendor/device/driver config - need to test in each particular case]

Offline skildude

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #4 on: 25 Jul 2012, 11:16:27 am »
Works very well on my 7970.  many non zeroed WU's completing in less than an hour.

No errors to report.

Offline Fredericx51

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
  • Knight Who Says Ni N!
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #5 on: 01 Aug 2012, 04:39:47 pm »
It's for all GPU AP builds.
[But how helpful it would be for particular vendor/device/driver config - need to test in each particular case]


Raistmer, do you have  AMD/ATI  5000/6000/7000 series of GPU(s), since you're the man, doing most of the coding, testing, IIRC,  Jason Gee; Richard Haselgrove
and  forgot somebody, too but you're putting a lot of time in this project and should
have the necessary equipment, IMHO.

If not, you're have to get one, I think and willing to pay for one or part of?!  Just PM  ::)
(Also have a HD4850 & HD5770 lying and not using atm. cause my VISTA rig has
strange failliars, could be PSU related cause it's only 350Watt).

Hope, you don't mind asking this,
Fredericx51.

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #6 on: 01 Aug 2012, 04:58:28 pm »
Raistmer, do you have  AMD/ATI  5000/6000/7000 series of GPU(s),
Currently I have HD6950 installed in one host, bought on SETI project members donations and GTX 260, donated too and sent by Mike to me, installed in another host.
Also I have own HD4870, GSO9600, GT9500, 8600 (or8500?), but not installed. I bought PCI->PCI-e adaptor on eBay, tested it on some AMD64 host and perhaps will install it + some of these cards into another AMD64 host, Winchester based one.
But I currently develop on C-60 based netbook so most of debugging and testing going there (it's AMD's APU: CPU+OpenCL-capable GPU in single chip). All other architectures covered by our excellent alpha testers.

Offline Morten

  • Knight o' The Round Table
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #7 on: 02 Aug 2012, 09:14:57 am »
Hi Raistmer,

What would be the correct setting based on these values:?

In FFA -2048 before main loop buffer freeing
Awaited 40 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 27 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 27 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 26 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Before FFA buffer release, end of FFA -2048
In FFA 2048 before main loop buffer freeing
Awaited 38 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 28 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 27 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 26 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Before FFA buffer release, end of FFA 2048
In FFA -2064 before main loop buffer freeing
Awaited 40 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 28 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 27 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 26 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Before FFA buffer release, end of FFA -2064
In FFA 2064 before main loop buffer freeing


-initial_ffa_sleep 26 -2064 ?
or
-initial_ffa_sleep 40 2048 ?

As the crunching of the task progresses, these values are increasing, meaning that the negative and positive value gets larger, as well as the "Awaited xx ms" positive value.

At 50% crunched it's like this:
Before FFA buffer release, end of FFA -8448
In FFA 8448 before main loop buffer freeing
Awaited 120 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 108 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 106 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 104 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 103 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 100 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 96 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 95 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 95 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 92 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 89 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 88 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 88 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 87 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Awaited 56 ms for completion
PC_inner_ffa result is: 0
Before FFA buffer release, end of FFA 8448

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #8 on: 02 Aug 2012, 02:14:35 pm »
You can try -initial_ffa_sleep 26 95 then. And see if it saves any CPU time and how much it will increase elapsed time.

EDIT: and positive/negative number that increases over time is DM value, should be ignored for this particular purpose, it's not a time count.
« Last Edit: 02 Aug 2012, 03:04:38 pm by Raistmer »

Offline Zeus Fab3r

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #9 on: 18 Nov 2012, 04:28:51 pm »
Hi Raistmer and everybody else,

I've decided to get back to AP crunching on my GTX260 in hope to bypass current server issues (and limits), so I have few questions:

- Is r1363 latest release?
- Do I need -initial_ffa_sleep N M switch to run this app?
- Can I use my old cmdline params
Code: [Select]
<cmdline>-ffa_block 6144 -ffa_block_fetch 1536 -unroll 10 -instances_per_device 1 -no_cpu_lock</cmdline> /edit (I just saw from Raistmer's r1316 opening post, that I don't need -no cpu lock switch)
- In above mentioned post there is app_info section for ATI GPU's in which I couldn't find file_info and file_ref parts for AstroPulse_Kernels_r1363.cl file. I used to have these when I was running r521, so are they obsolete, or not needed in ATI setup?
- Can I stay with 266.58 drivers? (I don't like high cpu usage because I crunch AP wus on all four cores)

Thanks in advance :)
« Last Edit: 18 Nov 2012, 04:30:52 pm by Zeus Fab3r »

Offline Mike

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 2427
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #10 on: 18 Nov 2012, 04:47:34 pm »
Its latest official release yes.
And you can still  use old cmdline params.

Offline Zeus Fab3r

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #11 on: 18 Nov 2012, 05:19:19 pm »
Is this OK?

    <app>
        <name>astropulse_v6</name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
        <name>AP6_win_x86_SSE2_OpenCL_NV_r1363.exe</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <file_info>
        <name>AstroPulse_Kernels_r1363.cl</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>astropulse_v6</app_name>
      <version_num>604</version_num>
      <avg_ncpus>0.04</avg_ncpus>
      <max_ncpus>0.20</max_ncpus>
      <plan_class>cuda</plan_class>
      <flops>475000000000</flops>
   <cmdline>-ffa_block 6144 -ffa_block_fetch 1536 -unroll 10 -instances_per_device 1</cmdline>
      <file_ref>
            <file_name>AP6_win_x86_SSE2_OpenCL_NV_r1363.exe</file_name>           
     <main_program/>
        </file_ref>
   <file_ref>
            <file_name>AstroPulse_Kernels_r1363.cl</file_name>           
     <copy_file/>
        </file_ref>
   <coproc>
        <type>CUDA</type>
        <count>1</count>
      </coproc>
    </app_version>

Offline Mike

  • Alpha Tester
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • ***
  • Posts: 2427
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #12 on: 18 Nov 2012, 05:36:31 pm »
It should work.
But you dont need to mention the cl file any longer.
Evenso _instance_per_device 1 is needless.
Count 1 is enough now.

Mine looks like this.

<app>
       <name>astropulse_v6</name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
         <name>AP6_win_x86_SSE2_OpenCL_ATI_r1363.exe</name>
    <executable/>
    </file_info>
   <file_info>
         <name>ap_cmdline.txt</name>
   </file_info>
    <app_version>
        <app_name>astropulse_v6</app_name>
       <version_num>601</version_num>
        <avg_ncpus>0.04</avg_ncpus>
        <max_ncpus>0.2</max_ncpus>
        <plan_class>ati13ati</plan_class>
    <coproc>
      <type>ATI</type>
        <count>0.5</count>
    </coproc>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>AP6_win_x86_SSE2_OpenCL_ATI_r1363.exe</file_name>
    <main_program/>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>ap_cmdline.txt</file_name>
    </file_ref>
    </app_version>

ap_cmdline.txt includes the params.

Mike

Offline Zeus Fab3r

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #13 on: 18 Nov 2012, 06:01:14 pm »
It's working ! Thanks.
Still I'd like to know about -initial_ffa_sleep N M switch and which is recomended driver for my old GTX260  ;)

edit: Here is my first result with new app. Should I be worried about infos and warnings about opening some binary kernel files? I've noticed that those files were created in my data folder.
« Last Edit: 18 Nov 2012, 08:04:15 pm by Zeus Fab3r »

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: AP6 r1363 for GPU
« Reply #14 on: 19 Nov 2012, 03:19:35 am »
If they were created - no reason to worry.
 -initial_ffa_sleep N M is experimental switch provided in case someone finds it useful for own host.
Recommended driver (for OpenCL NV app) is: 263.06

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59559
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 39
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 30
Total: 30
Powered by EzPortal