+- +-
Say hello if visiting :) by Gecko
11 Jan 2023, 07:43:05 pm

Seti is down again by Mike
09 Aug 2017, 10:02:44 am

Some considerations regarding OpenCL MultiBeam app tuning from algorithm view by Raistmer
11 Dec 2016, 06:30:56 am

Loading APU to the limit: performance considerations by Mike
05 Nov 2016, 06:49:26 am

Better sleep on Windows - new round by Raistmer
26 Aug 2016, 02:02:31 pm

Author Topic: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516) released  (Read 26622 times)

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516) released
« on: 18 Mar 2011, 07:18:25 am »
It's ATI OpenCL builld update intended to replace rev456 OpenCL build and rev 449 OpenCL+Brook build.
Hardware requirements are the same as for rev456 OpenCL build (look old release notes here: http://lunatics.kwsn.net/12-gpu-crunching/astropulse-for-ati-gpus-released.msg31201.html#msg31201 )

New command line switches:
-hp - sets high priority class
-no_cpu_lock - disables affinity setting
-instances_per_device N - will allow running N copies per each supported GPU device (don't forget to set <count> field in app_info to 1/N to instruct BOINC to launch N tasks per GPU).

-unroll N -sets DATA_CHUNK_UNROLL variable to N. This allows to do N data chunks per FindSinglePulse kernel call improving (in most cases) performance but increasing GPU memory requirements. On low-end GPUs it may be worth to use lower values. Default setted to 10 as in r456 (there it was hardwired to 10).


Known issues:
Don't forget to finish current AP task before upgrade. Or you will need to manually update CL file not only in SETI project directory but in corresponding slot directory too. BOINC doesn't do this, design flaw IMHO.

Double check if your config (GPU+driver) has OpenCL support in case of mobility GPU. Ask Ati for OpenCL support if not.

app_info section for this app:

Code: [Select]
<app>
<name>astropulse_v505</name>
</app>
<file_info>
        <name>ap_5.06_win_x86_SSE2_OpenCL_ATI_r516.exe</name>
        <executable/>
    </file_info>
<file_info>
    <name>AstroPulse_Kernels.cl</name>
    <executable/>
</file_info>
 <app_version>
        <app_name>astropulse_v505</app_name>
        <version_num>506</version_num>
        <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
        <avg_ncpus>0.04</avg_ncpus>
        <max_ncpus>0.20</max_ncpus>
        <plan_class>ati13ati</plan_class>
<cmdline>-instances_per_device 1 -hp -unroll 10 -ffa_block 4096 -ffa_block_fetch 2048</cmdline>
<flops>30987654321</flops>
             <file_ref>
                  <file_name>ap_5.06_win_x86_SSE2_OpenCL_ATI_r516.exe</file_name>
                  <main_program/>                           
           </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
        <file_name>AstroPulse_Kernels.cl</file_name>
        <copy_file/>
    </file_ref>
   <coproc>
   <type>ATI</type>
   <count>1</count>
   </coproc>
 </app_version>

« Last Edit: 26 Mar 2011, 05:54:37 am by Raistmer »

Offline benool

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #1 on: 18 Mar 2011, 09:31:55 am »
I'll be sure to test and report back.

Waiting on current AP to finish.

Ghost0210

  • Guest
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #2 on: 18 Mar 2011, 03:16:04 pm »
Hi Raistmer, only a quick question - I thought in Beta this was version_num 506 in your app_info? The release version_num in this thread is 505?
Makes no difference, but thought I'd ask ;)

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #3 on: 18 Mar 2011, 03:19:27 pm »
Hi Raistmer, only a quick question - I thought in Beta this was version_num 506 in your app_info? The release version_num in this thread is 505?
Makes no difference, but thought I'd ask ;)
Doesn't matters, I'll check what was in prev release and correct if there was 5.06
[EDIT: changed to 506]

Ghost0210

  • Guest
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #4 on: 18 Mar 2011, 03:20:58 pm »
Didn't think it mattered was just wondering if there was a reason?
(And it broke my task monitoring app  :o)

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #5 on: 18 Mar 2011, 03:31:47 pm »
Didn't think it mattered was just wondering if there was a reason?
(And it broke my task monitoring app  :o)
No reason besides some inaccuracy :) I took app_info section right from my production PC. And there I don;t care much for meaningless numbers :)

Also, I think flops section can/should (?) be omitted too now? Any opinions on flops ?

Ghost0210

  • Guest
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #6 on: 18 Mar 2011, 03:37:22 pm »
I;ve only got them in becuase I'm currently running 6.12.18 and the v7 app @ beta and didn't want that app screwing up the rest of my times for my other tasks there
If it weren't for that I wouldn't bother either anymore

Edit: another quick question - with the app_info the plan_class doesn't get used either does it (I can't use standard plan_class as need a way to differentiate between Seti & Beta tasks)

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #7 on: 18 Mar 2011, 04:22:49 pm »
what do you want to use instead of ati13ati then ??

Ghost0210

  • Guest
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #8 on: 18 Mar 2011, 04:41:22 pm »
what do you want to use instead of ati13ati then ??

I use ati13ati for Seti tasks and ati13ati_beta for beta tasks (and yes, I've also given cpu tasks a plan_class @ Beta as well)

I got fed-up with Boinc Manager and wrote a small app that gives me pratically the same information with half the overhead of BM
Only reason I ever open BM now is to start and stop processing and do network comms
Problem is, Beta and Seti Main tasks are identical in the client_state, so to seperate them out in the app, so I could get accurate info I had to change either the version_num or the plan_class values. I chose the plan_class to change

As far as I can tell it's made no difference to work fetch and/or scheduling as I think this is all done from the coproc value

Offline benool

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #9 on: 18 Mar 2011, 05:13:03 pm »
Seems to work great on my ATI 4550.  :-*

I had to set -unroll 5 instead of 10 otherwise I get computation errors.

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #10 on: 18 Mar 2011, 05:36:57 pm »
Seems to work great on my ATI 4550.  :-*

I had to set -unroll 5 instead of 10 otherwise I get computation errors.
Link to host?

Offline benool

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 45

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #12 on: 19 Mar 2011, 05:31:34 am »
If you want to debug this problem you ould install APP SDK from AMD and check kernel exeution times under profiler. It's possible that they just take too long on this GPU (only 2 compute devices, 128 threads instead of 256, lower freq than on HD4870). First reported error appears inside FFT call.

Offline benool

  • Squire
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #13 on: 19 Mar 2011, 08:43:22 am »
okay, I got the SDK installed and figured out how to launch the app with the profiler.

Is there any particular option I should add to sprofile or are the defaults what you are looking for?

I'll do a pass with unroll at 10 and another with 5.

Offline Raistmer

  • Working Code Wizard
  • Volunteer Developer
  • Knight who says 'Ni!'
  • *****
  • Posts: 14349
Re: ATI OpenCL AstroPulse (rev516)
« Reply #14 on: 19 Mar 2011, 08:53:08 am »
defaults will go OK.

 

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?
Members
Total Members: 97
Latest: ToeBee
New This Month: 0
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 59559
Total Topics: 1672
Most Online Today: 41
Most Online Ever: 983
(20 Jan 2020, 03:17:55 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 30
Total: 30
Powered by EzPortal