Seti@Home optimized science apps and information

Optimized Seti@Home apps => Windows => GPU crunching => Topic started by: corsair on 08 Jan 2013, 05:08:48 pm

Title: BOINC and/or OS issue
Post by: corsair on 08 Jan 2013, 05:08:48 pm
I've this log and as could see there are two GPU but can't get working both of them (I do like to do it without crossfire):

1   Starting BOINC client version 7.0.28 for windows_x86_64   
2   log flags: file_xfer, sched_ops, task   
3   Libraries: libcurl/7.25.0 OpenSSL/1.0.1 zlib/1.2.6   
4   Data directory: C:\ProgramData\BOINC   
5   Running under account XXXXX
6   Processor: 4 AuthenticAMD AMD A10-5700 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics    [Family 21 Model 16 Stepping 1]   
7   Processor: 2.00 MB cache   
8   Processor features: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 htt pni ssse3 cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 syscall nx lm svm sse4a osvw ibs xop skinit wdt lwp fma4 page1gb rdtscp   
9   OS: Microsoft Windows 8: Professional x64 Edition, (06.02.9200.00)   
10   Memory: 15.46 GB physical, 30.96 GB virtual   
11   Disk: 118.90 GB total, 15.68 GB free   
12   Local time is UTC +1 hours   
13   ATI GPU 0: (not used) Devastator (CAL version 1.4.1741, 512MB, 480MB available, 2016 GFLOPS peak)   
14   ATI GPU 1: Capeverde (CAL version 1.4.1741, 1024MB, 984MB available, 3360 GFLOPS peak)   
15   OpenCL: ATI GPU 0 (not used): Devastator (driver version 1084.2 (VM), device version OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.2), 512MB, 480MB available)   
16   OpenCL: ATI GPU 1: Capeverde (driver version 1084.2 (VM), device version OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1084.2), 1024MB, 984MB available)   


Any Clue about ??
Title: Re: BOINC and/or OS issue
Post by: Josef W. Segur on 08 Jan 2013, 05:29:19 pm
You need a cc_config.xml (http://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Client_configuration) with at least:

<cc_config>
   <options>
      <use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
   </options>
</cc_config>

By default BOINC only uses the most capable of two GPUs of the same brand.
                                               Joe
Title: Re: BOINC and/or OS issue
Post by: Claggy on 08 Jan 2013, 05:29:26 pm
Yep, Boinc will only use the most capable GPU by default, you'll need to enable <use_all_gpus> by making the following cc_config.xml dropping it in your Boinc Data directory and restarting Boinc:

<cc_config>
<options>
<use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
</options>
</cc_config>

If you're done it right you should have the following in your Boinc startup log:

08/01/2013 22:28:46      Config: use all coprocessors

Claggy
Title: Re: BOINC and/or OS issue
Post by: cristipurdel on 09 Jan 2013, 03:13:56 am
So if I have a 7660G + 7670M, boinc will use the discrete card (7670M) over the integrated one every time?
It's a nice feature (fail safe). Until they figure out how to manage every Compute Unit :)
Title: Re: BOINC and/or OS issue
Post by: corsair on 09 Jan 2013, 08:44:52 am
Ok done after deleting old cc_config.xml that don't know the reason don't allow me to do it, now working with both GPU but only crunching with 3 Cores instead of 4 ?? :'(

pd.: thanks a lot all of you for your support.

Yep, Boinc will only use the most capable GPU by default, you'll need to enable <use_all_gpus> by making the following cc_config.xml dropping it in your Boinc Data directory and restarting Boinc:

<cc_config>
<options>
<use_all_gpus>1</use_all_gpus>
</options>
</cc_config>

If you're done it right you should have the following in your Boinc startup log:

08/01/2013 22:28:46      Config: use all coprocessors

Claggy
Title: Re: BOINC and/or OS issue
Post by: corsair on 09 Jan 2013, 04:31:12 pm
Ok done after deleting old cc_config.xml that don't know the reason don't allow me to do it, now working with both GPU but only crunching with 3 Cores instead of 4 ?? :'(

pd.: thanks a lot all of you for your support.

my fault how could be crunching with four cores when GPU work is 0,8 CPU + 1 GPU in two same instances there should be at least one core lost to feed the GPU applications.